M2 Resources: Top Databases
These resources are available to you because you are affiliated with the University at Buffalo. Use your UB credentials for remote access. Click on the hyperlinked title to read more about each database. Several of these resources have apps, including UpToDate, Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas App 2017, AccessMedicine, and ClinicalKey. There are special instructions detailing how to install the apps.
Databases with Apps
Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas 2017 includes comprehensive 3D gross anatomy of the male and female, select microanatomy of the sense and tissue types, cadaver slices and MRIs that are paired with 3D models, and 3D moving models of muscles and bones. There are definitions, pronunciations, and disease descriptions. Different views of the human body can be created using the rotate and zoom tools and anatomy can be dissected. Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas 2017 is available on a computer or mobile device on or off campus.
AccessMedicine is a comprehensive online medical resource that includes nearly 100 references, including the latest editions of respected medical texts such as Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine and CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment.
Besides these key medical textbooks, the database also contains examination and procedural videos, patient safety modules, audio files and animations, interactive self-assessment tools, drug monographs, cases, patient education, diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from, and download content to, a mobile device.
Updated frequently by expert physicians, AccessMedicine provides access to the information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board exams review. A free MyAccess profile is required in order to use certain features, such as Review Questions and Flashcards.
ClinicalKey is a search engine and database of peer-reviewed and evidence-based clinical information resources designed to support physician patient care decisions. The content is subject to a rigorous peer-review process by doctors, clinical pharmacists, and nurses to ensure its reliability.
Search or browse ClinicalKey’s resources, which include over one thousand Elsevier medical and surgical reference book titles, journals, clinical trials, drug monographs, guidelines, patient education materials in multiple languages, multimedia, First Consult entries for clinical decision support, and Procedures Consult for video, text, and illustrations for top medical procedures. A Clinical Focus feature screens for books, articles (systematic reviews, meta-analyses, narrative reviews), drug monographs, and guidelines all from within the past 3 years.
This is a trial that runs through mid-2018. Onsite access at UB, CHS, ECMC and Kaleida sites or via mobile download. Your feedback is appreciated at HUBNET.
VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. Quickly search by diagnosis, build a patient-specific differential, or review travel or medication-related events at the point of care. Features peer-reviewed clinical content, the world’s best medical image library, exclusive Sympticon™ technology that visually demonstrate symptoms of disease, drug reactions database, and a powerful differential builder with "DDx Strength Indicator." VisualDx is interoperable with UpToDate.
Get the mobile app at any participating site. The app includes quizzes and CME.
Databases with Apps Continued
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical resource which provides specific, detailed answers to clinical questions and treatment recommendations based on the best medical evidence. World-renowned physician authors, editors and peer reviewers synthesize the most recent medical information into evidence-based topic reviews addressing clinical issues that span over 22 specialties. Topic reviews include links to fully illustrated and referenced charts, x-rays, photographs, movies and Medline abstracts with links to full text from subscribed journals.
The product also includes: medical calculators; Practice Changing Updates and What’s New sections that highlight specific new recommendations that may change current clinical practice; different levels of patient education materials; ability to search in 10 languages; search filters for adult, pediatric, patient and graphics; topic prompts to assist in searching; and a link directly to Lexi-Comp to search drug-drug, drug-herb, and herb-herb interactions.
Register for an account in UpToDate while on campus in order to access UpToDate remotely or install the UpToDate mobile app.
JoVE Clinical Skills contains five video collections that demonstrate physical exam techniques. Three collections center on the essentials of physical examination, another focuses on techniques in emergency medicine and critical care, and the last collection covers clinical skills essentials in nursing.
This is an extended trial through 2/15/19! Email Nell Aronoff at email@example.com with your feedback.
NEJM Resident 360 helps both students and residents prepare for their clinical rotations and careers. It offers guides in common internal medicine rotations (Rotation Prep) that provide brief topic overviews and links to landmark trials, reviews, and guidelines. NEJM Resident 360’s Learning Lab provides interactive tools that explain the medical literature and hone diagnostic skills. Expert-led discussions, blog posts, and podcasts are also included.
A free account and user profile are required to access to NEJM Resident 360. Creation of your profile must be completed through an IP registered with UB’s NEJM site license. Once this connection is established, you can access this resource anywhere.
JAMAevidence provides guidance for the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims in the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care. It uses a foundation of three texts:
- Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3rd ed, focuses on the fundamental concepts of evidence-based medicine (EBM).
- The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis covers cases and statistics associated to those cases.
- Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience describes patient cases in the use of palliative care.
JAMAevidence also provides PowerPoint slides, calculators, monthly podcasts, and custom learning tools for critical appraisal and information synthesis to support the learning and understanding of EBM concepts. To access the critical appraisal worksheets, it is necessary to create a free account within JAMAevidence.