Skip to main content

European Studies: Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses

Europe: DART-Europe E-Theses Portal
Access to over 500,000 full-text theses from over 500 European universities.

Proquest Dissertations & Theses Full Text
Provides indexing and access to United States and Canadian dissertations.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations
OATD aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions.

Free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents, coupled with powerful search, organization, and collaboration tools.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Provides links to resources to find available open-access electronic theses and dissertations.

Great Britain and Ireland: Index to Theses in Great Britain and Ireland
Leads to citations (and in most cases, abstracts) of dissertations and master's theses completed at British and Irish universities. Also provides links to over 70,000 full-text theses available online for free downloads from university repositories as well as EThOS (

The British Library’s Electronic Theses Online Service.  Search across over 350,000 theses and order full-text.

Spain: Tesis Doctorales: TESEO
Abstracts of theses from Spanish universities.

Spain: TDX – Tesis Doctorals in Xarxa
Doctoral theses presented at some Spanish universities.

France: Thèses
Citations and some full-text French theses.

Germany: Sammlung Digitaler Dissertationen in Deutschland
Gateway to online dissertation sites of many German universities.

Scandinavia: DIVA
Provides access to ETDs and research publications written at 26 institutions in Scandinavia.

Netherlands: NARCIS
Provides access to ETDs produced in the Netherlands, as well as access to a variety of other research and data sets.

Portugal: RCAAP - Repositório Científico de Acesso Aberto de Portugal
This portal offers a union catalog with digital contents from more than 30 Portuguese institutions; you can restrict a search to theses and dissertations.

Italy: Tesionline
Italian service which sells theses and dissertations; free previews available for most items.

Finland: E-Thesis, Finland
University of Helsinki theses and dissertations published since 1999 open access.


Cynthia Tysick's picture
Cynthia Tysick
520C Lockwood Library
(716) 645-8629


Originally published 5 December 2014 by Charles D’Aniello, Don Hartman, Cindi Tysick, & Dave Bertuca