Skip to main content

European Studies: News

Newspapers-Current & Historical

To see whether the UB Libraries have online access to a particular newspaper, search by the title of the newspaper in the E-Journals database 

European Newspapers (Council for European Studies)
Click on a title to be taken to  the newspaper’s website.

European Media Monitor (EMM) NewsBrief
NewsBrief presents the latest news and classifies it according to subject. It is updated every 10 minutes, 24 hours per day. It gathers reports from news portals worldwide in 43 languages, classifies the articles, analyses the news texts, aggregates the information and issues alerts.  The “Advanced Search”  form allows you to limit a search by source country, category, language, and date.

Newspaper Map
An annotated Google Map with sites marked for news outlets from around the world with translation available through Google. You can also search by name of news source and location, as well as filter by language.

Finding European Newspapers in Factiva

Factiva allows one to limit a search to specific publications from a particular country or region. 

Due to licensing restrictions for academic subscriptions, not all news sources in Factiva are available
Searching in Factiva:

  • Click on “Search” (located at the top of the page)
  • Type your keyword search in the search box and change your date coverage (default is the last 3 months)
  • Click on the blue arrow icon for “Region”
  • Click on “Europe” (for all of Europe) or the + sign in front of the word “Europe” to select sub-region or individual countries
  • Click on the blue arrow icon for “Language” if you want to search languages other than English

Several runs of newspapers are held in microfilm – consult the catalog.

International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON)
Includes links to newspaper digitization projects from a wide range of countries. Particularly extensive digitization projects are available for European countries, but many other countries are represented.

European Newspapers
Under development; it will eventually provide more than 18 million newspaper pages from 18 partner institutions .

List of online newspaper archives (Wikipedia)
A list of free and pay wall blocked digital online newspaper archives; arranged by country.

New York Times, 1851-2010
Contents may be browsed by complete issues (that is, article-by-article), searched by article types, keywords, or subjects and printed or downloaded in PDF format. 

Irish Newspaper Archives – Not Held
Requested several times by faculty and students.

Times (London) – Not Held
Requested several times by faculty and students.

British Newspaper Archive – Not Held
The British Newspaper Archive is a partnership between the British Library and findmypast to digitise up to 40 million newspaper pages from the British Library's vast collection over the next 10 years.

European Media Monitor RSS Feed



Cynthia Tysick's picture
Cynthia Tysick
520C Lockwood Library
(716) 645-8629


Originally published 5 December 2014 by Charles D’Aniello, Don Hartman, Cindi Tysick, & Dave Bertuca