Skip to main content

European Studies: Primary Sources


Primary Source Collections

Many specialized projects are available online; see this list and the second and third items below for suggestions.

EuroDocs
http://eudocs.lib.byu.edu/index.php/Main_Page

UCLA Library Guides on Europe
http://guides.library.ucla.edu/cat.php?cid=10721
An excellent introduction.  Check under the Primary Sources tab. 

Washington University Library Guides on Europe
http://libguides.wustl.edu/euro

World History Sources
http://chnm.gmu.edu/worldhistorysources/index.html
Scholarly reviews of online primary source archives. Select Europe.

European Navigator
http://primary-sources.eui.eu/website/european-navigator
Provides high quality research and educational material on the history of European integration (the EU).

Google Books
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=498

HathiTrust Digital Library
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=496

Europeana
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=589

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=145

Early English Books Online
http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=132

Nineteenth Century Collections Online – Not Held
http://www.cengage.com/search/showresults.do;jsessionid=9A1BCB220019480AB12F8D3BCD434EAF?N=197&Ntk=APG&Ntt=NCCO&Ntx=mode+matchallpartial
“Each collection can be purchased separately or together as one package. Complaining that a collection of this magnitude is not fully comprehensive is a bit churlish but it is fair to say that some scholars will find it more useful than others, as this review will show. I will discuss how the collection has been sorted and presented and end with a few observations about where this leaves us.”  Reviews in History: http://www.history.ac.uk/reviews/review/1359

Librarian

Cynthia Tysick's picture
Cynthia Tysick
Contact:
520C Lockwood Library
(716) 645-8629
Website / Blog Page

Attribution

Originally published 5 December 2014 by Charles D’Aniello, Don Hartman, Cindi Tysick, & Dave Bertuca