Skip to main content

European Studies: European Union


European Union Resources

Some resources are listed in other sections of this guide.

See our library guide to EU resources which complements what follows http://libweb1.lib.buffalo.edu/guide/guide.asp?id=131; and  see also the guide prepared at the University of Chicago http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/EU

How the EU Works
http://europa.eu/about-eu/index_en.htm
A quick overview.

Europa: Gateway to the European Union
http://europa.eu/geninfo/atoz/en/index_1_en.htm
An alphabetical index.

Europa – Official Documents from EU Institutions
http://europa.eu/publications/official-documents/index_en.htm
Includes the Official Journal, along with documents of individual institutions, agencies, and other EU bodies.

Official Journal of the European Union
http://eur-lex.europa.eu/oj/direct-access.html
The official compendium of EU legislation (L series) and other official documents of the EU institutions, bodies and agencies (C series and its supplements). It is published every day from Tuesday to Saturday in the official languages of the EU and is available in different formats.  Covers 1952 to date.  A search capability is provided: http://eur-lex.europa.eu/advanced-search-form.html?qid=1414164896677&action=update. Older paper versions are available, consult the catalog under Official Journal of the European Union.  In addition: accessible from this site are EU law and related documents (treaties, legislation, etc.), national case law, legislative procedures, and directories, institutions and bodies, and summaries of EU legislation. 

Europa -- Treaties
http://europa.eu/about-eu/basic-information/decision-making/treaties/index_en.htm
Consolidated texts of European Union treaties, including Treaty on European Union, Treaty of Nice, Treaty of Amsterdam, and Treaty establishing a Constitution for Europe.  The EU is based on the rule of law. Every action taken by the EU is founded on treaties that have been approved voluntarily and democratically by all EU member countries.

European Parliament
http://www.europarl.europa.eu/portal/en
This is the directly elected parliamentary organ of the EU.  Along with the Council of Europe and the European Commission, it exercises the legislative functions of the EU.  A search engine is provided.

Eur-Lexz
http://eur-lex.europa.eu/homepage.html
Provides access to EU law and public documents. Collections include treaties, legislation in force, case law, and more.  A search engine is provided.

Council of the European Union
http://europa.eu/about-eu/institutions-bodies/council-eu/index_en.htm
Also informally known as the EU Council, this is where national ministers from each EU country meet to adopt laws and coordinate policies.  A search engine is provided.  Not to be confused with the Council of Europe http://www.coe.int/en/web/portal/home which is the continent's leading human rights organization.  It includes 47 member states, 28 of which are members of the European Union.

European Economic and Social Committee (EESC)
http://europa.eu/about-eu/institutions-bodies/ecosoc/index_en.htm
The EESC is an EU consultative body comprised of representatives of Europe's employers' organizations, trade unions, consumer groups, professional associations, etc. This site includes the EESC's publications (back to 2004), documents (back to 2001), and published opinions (since 1990).

European Commission
http://ec.europa.eu/index_en.htm
The Commission represents the interests of the EU as a whole. It proposes new legislation to the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union, and it ensures that EU law is correctly applied by member countries.

Sources Reporting EU Activities

Europa – EU Newsroom
http://europa.eu/newsroom/index_en.htm 
The official site for EU press releases and easily browsed and searched.   In addition to print, video, photo, and audio releases are available.

Rapid
http://europa.eu/rapid/search.htm
“The RAPID database contains all the Press Releases of the Commission since 1985, the great majority of them in at least two languages. It also contains Press Releases of some of the other European institutions, particularly the Council of the Union.”
Info-Europa
http://ec.europa.eu/unitedkingdom/information/info-europa/info-europa_en.htm
A monthly round-up of EU news and legislation.  Prepared by Patrick Overy at the European Documentation Centre University of Exeter and Eric Davies of Eurojargon Enterprises.  2014 forward.

New Europe
http://www.neurope.eu/
Published for 20 years.   NE is a European political newspaper that focuses on EU politics and issues. There are also sections focusing on life, leisure, and fashion.

EurActiv
http://www.euractiv.com/
An online media source on European affairs, which is easily browsed as well as searchable.  Sections for topics ranging from Agriculture and Food to Health and Consumers to Trade and Society are further divided. 

Librarian

Cynthia Tysick's picture
Cynthia Tysick
Contact:
520C Lockwood Library
(716) 645-8629
Website / Blog Page

Attribution

Originally published 5 December 2014 by Charles D’Aniello, Don Hartman, Cindi Tysick, & Dave Bertuca