European Studies: Statistics & Data
Statistics & Data
EU Statistics and Opinion Polls
Wide-ranging groupings. Opinion polls indicate the satisfaction level with EU policies.
The statistical office of the European Union; provides statistics at the European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
European Union Open Data portal
Provides federated access to public data from EU institutions and agencies.
Council of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA)
The CESSDA Data Portal provides a seamless interface to datasets from 13 social science data archives across Europe.
Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR is the largest data archive in the world. It collects numeric data (including data covering Europe) from researchers, governments, and other institutions throughout the world, and makes the information available to people at member institutions. This information is primarily raw data. Contact Leslie McCain, UB's ICPSR representative, to access data files. (645-3102 or firstname.lastname@example.org ) Leslie will download the files and place them on a local server.
The OECD iLibrary provides online access to all books, statistical series, journals, and databases originating from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development published since 1998.
UNdata is the United Nations' statistical database that includes data published by the UN and its affiliated agencies; includes estimates and projection, and a variety of statistical sources from the UN system.
World Bank Data
Provides access to global economic and development series including World Development Indicators, International Debt Statistics, Millennium Development Indicators and data on poverty, education and gender.
OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
An extensive directory of links to official government statistics throughout the world. Site is searchable by country, region, and topic.
International Data Base (IDB) http://www.census.gov/population/international/data/idb/informationGateway.php
Data bank containing statistical tables of demographic and socioeconomic data for many of the countries and areas of the world. The IDB is created by the United States Census Bureau and provides quick access to specialized information, with emphasis on demographic measures, for individual countries or selected groups of countries.
International Financial Statistics (IMF)
Contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas. Most topics emphasize finance and banking, rather than socioeconomic subjects.
Description from the site: “Zanran helps you to find ‘semi-structured’ data on the web. This is the numerical data that people have presented as graphs and tables and charts. For example, the data could be a graph in a PDF report, or a table in an Excel spreadsheet, or a barchart shown as an image in an HTML page. This huge amount of information can be difficult to find using conventional search engines, which are focused primarily on finding text rather than graphs, tables and bar charts.” Often referred to as “the Google for data”.
Germany: Statistisches Bundesamt Deutschland (German Federal Statistical Office)
Reports to the Federal Ministry of the Interior, formed in 1953.
Germany: Statistische Amter des Bundes und der Lander
From the statistical offices of the Federal government and Lander.
Austria: Statistik Austria
Switzerland: Bundesamt fur Statistik (Switzerland)
Italian National Institute of Statistics.
United Kingdom: UKData Service
Site provides a single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data for the United Kingdom.
Originally published 5 December 2014 by Charles D’Aniello, Don Hartman, Cindi Tysick, & Dave Bertuca