Political Science: Data
Quick Statistics
- Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Online This link opens in a new windowHistorical statistics and comprehensive essays placing the data in context from colonial times through the present. More InfoData UB ONLY
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowComprehensive single source for U.S. statistics. More InfoData UB ONLY
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowIndexes government publications of the US federal & state governments as well other intergovernmental, trade & professionals organizations. More InfoData UB ONLY
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowDemographic information about the United States including historical data back to 1790. More InfoData UB ONLY
- Historical Apportionment Data MapThis interactive tool enables users to view more than 10 decades of apportionment and population data.
Guides to Data Files
Data Archives -- A Social Science Sampler
Guides to Using Statistics
- Statistics (University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill)
- Using Statistics Effectively (American Library Association)
- Writing with Statistics (Purdue University)
- Finding and Using Health Statistics (National Library of Medicine)
Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
"An international consortium of more than 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields."
To use ICPSR at Buffalo contact Carolyn Klotzbach-Russell.
422 Lockwood Library, North Campus
Buffalo NY 14260-4100
Email: cmklotzb@buffalo.edu
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Scientific Research) This link opens in a new windowMust access through a computer on the UB network, or via a computer using the UB Secure network. UB-affiliated users should create their own user accounts by following the instructions under Log In/Create Account on ICPSR’s homepage. More InfoData UB ONLY
Citing Data
Librarian
Data Archives -- An International Politics Sampler
- Comtrade - (United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database) This link opens in a new windowDetailed foreign trade statistics. More InfoData PUBLIC
- Statistics Canada Socioeconomic Data (formerly CANSIM) This link opens in a new windowStatistical database supported by Statistics Canada. More InfoData PUBLIC
- International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new windowContains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas. More InfoData PUBLIC
- International Direct Investment StatisticsDetailed statistics for inward and outward foreign direct investment (FDI) flows and positions (stocks) of OECD countries. Comparative tables and charts complement the information included for the statistics of each OECD country broken down by partner countries worldwide and by economic activity. Data are generally provided for the most recent five years available.
- Atlas of Sustainable Development Goals | World BankThe Atlas of Sustainable Development Goals 2018 is a visual guide to the trends, challenges and measurement issues related to each of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals. The Atlas features maps and data visualizations, primarily drawn from World Development Indicators (WDI) - the World Bank’s compilation of internationally comparable statistics about global development and the quality of people’s lives.
- World Bank Open DataFree and open access to global development data including GDP, population statistics, and other pertinent economic data sets.
Data Archives -- American Politics
American National Election Studies
ANES data enable researchers to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes.
Voting and Registration (U.S. Census)
In election years, the Current Population Survey collects data on reported voting and registration, and later reports stats by turnout, age, race and origin.
The Federal Election Commission (FEC) is an independent regulatory agency established in 1975 to administer and enforce the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA).
- USAspending.govUSAspending.gov is the official source for spending data for the U.S. Government. Its mission is to show the American public what the federal government spends every year and how it spends the money. You can follow the money from the Congressional appropriations to the federal agencies and down to local communities and businesses.
War and Peace
"COW seeks to facilitate the collection, dissemination, and use of accurate and reliable quantitative data in international relations."
Integrated Network for Societal Conflict Research
"It is engaged in innovative research on the problem of political violence within the structural context of the dynamic global system . . . "