Remote access to this resource requires a UBITName and password.

China Academic Journals (CAJ) Content and Overview:
The China Academic Journals (CAJ) database is the largest index to Chinese-language periodicals from the People's Republic of China. It is a component of the China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKInet). For some background on CNKInet, visit http://online.eastview.com/help/faq.htm. More than 7,200 journals are included. Taking CAJ as a whole (not each comprising component) about 10% of full-text articles are in English.

The Libraries has subscribed to two components: (F) Literature/History/Philosophy and (G) Politics/Military Affairs/Law. Other components cannot be viewed in full text; but one may search the index across all components or one may restrict searches to specific components or a combination of components. This is important, because articles not available to us online may be requested through interlibrary loan. Full-Boolean searching in Chinese and English is supported in basic, advanced, and expert modes. Searching in simplified Chinese characters works best; however, as does the use of Internet Explorer. Citations for articles give author, title, keywords, and an abstract in English (or a translatable Chinese abstract, see below).

Other topical components are: science and engineering, agriculture, medicine and health, education and social science, electronics (telecommunications and computers) and information science (includes library science), and economics and management. The tables of contents of journals may be viewed; sometimes they are in English (especially in non-humanities areas); in the vast majority of instances they are in Chinese. While overwhelmingly in Chinese; many articles are in English.

Restricting to English-Language Content
To restrict searching to English-language articles see CNKI Searching below. This is not an option with the East View product.

Downloading PDFs
Download articles in Chinese (and other languages as available) using the PDF (not CAJ) option. Text can also be saved to a computer or other device, including a Kindle. Readability is a function of screen size.

Increasing English-Language Functionality
For increased functionality, install the Google Translation Toolbar http://support.google.com/toolbar/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=146786To install the Toolbar visit http://support.google.com/toolbar/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=9230&ctx=cbo&cbid=433852026&cbrank=0. This will enable you to translate pages without pasting them into Google Translate. It becomes operable when you select citations to consider and elsewhere. Note that the translated Chinese-language abstract is often longer and more detailed than the English-language abstract. Of course, text may be copied and then pasted into Google Translate http://translate.google.com/?hl=en&tab=wT. From either the Chinese- or English-interfaces searches may be performed using Chinese characters. Google Translate will also allow you to translate English into simplified Chinese. This may be very useful for searching, since the index does perform better in Chinese. English-language users will find Google easier to use; but there is also a dictionary within the resource, see the top of the search screen http://dict.cnki.net/. While translation is imperfect; it is rapid and if you understand a topic's basic framework, it is often useable. Tired of reading - Google Translate will read the original text in Chinese or read the English translation. As you search, whenever possible, click the Google Translate button at the top of the screen - if you have installed the Google Translation Toolbar.

Reading Journal Issues
If there is a journal you would like to read regularly or browse from time to time, select Journal Navigation. A subject grouping of journals will appear and from it you can review included journal titles. For content to which we have subscribed you will have full access; to non-subscribed content you will see a list of article titles. There is also an option to search by journal title.

Cross-Database Searching
The UB community may use Cross-Database to explore China Academic Journals, Century Journals Project, and the China Core Newspapers Full-Text Database.

CNKI Searching and Finding English-Language Content
To search CNKI itself, not our purchased or subscribed subset made available by the American partner East View, use: http://www.cnki.net/. If you have loaded the Google Translate Toolbar you will have some ability to identify citations and read abstracts, though not to read articles.
There is an option that enables a searcher to exclude Chinese-language publications by selecting Other Languages. It appears after a search is entered and executed in the CNKI Scholar query box. The result is retrieved references are, if not totally, predominantly in English. This option is not available in the East View version. Among other CNKI's many components are:

• China Doctor/Master Dissertation Database
  This is the most comprehensive, continuously updated database of its kind in China. As of August 2005, the item count exceeded 220,000. All CAJ topical areas are covered. Coverage begins with 1999.
• China Conference Proceedings Database
  This database is comprised of proceedings from various academic associations, industrial organizations, governmental agencies, and international bodies in China. As of August 2005 the record count reached 320,000, with an annual increase of 100,000. Some coverage begins in 1999.

Useful Links: Guides, Lists and More
Title lists are available at

https://www.eastview.com/resources/title-lists/ See units F and G. An English-language user's guide is accessible at http://online.eastview.com/help/User_Guide.pdf. CNKI is far more than a simple index and serious users may wish to understand its ability to link and cross reference scholars and ideas and suggest both relevant and pertinent resources.

A brief brochure is available at http://www.eastview.com/Files/EV%20CNKI%20CAJ.pdf.

Catalog Access
Subscribed content is findable using the E-Journals search engine https://library.buffalo.edu/findlibrarymaterials/ejournals/ by the transliterated title or the alternate English translation, for instance: Bei fang wen wu or Northern Cultural Relics.

EndNote
CNKI citations may be saved in EndNote and other bibliographic management software. To import citations you must first load an import filter. I have successfully used the filter provided by Australia's Macquarie University, visit http://libguides.mq.edu.au/content.php?pid=114111&sid=1012051#CNKI. Save the filter to your desktop and then drag and drop it into the EndNote filter folder. Importing references is a two stage process. Stage One: 1. Perform a search in CNKI, 2. From the results list, check the box beside each item you wish to save, 3. Click the SAVE option, 4. Select RefWorks (EndNote is not an option; but this is not a problem), 5. Save the citation (or set of citations) to your desktop. Stage Two: 1. From EndNote, select the IMPORT FILE option, 2. Choose the file you just saved 2. From The IMPORT OPTION, browse for and load the CNKI filter (first, choose Other Filters from the drop down menu to find it), 3. Import the references.

From 1915 to date. Full text only for purchased/subscribed units.