Skip to main content

Canadian Federal Government: Catalogs and Indexes


Catalogs and Indexes

Canadian Government Documents (Google)
A specialized Google search engine that limits results to Canadian federal, provincial, and municipal government documents.

Depository Services Program . E-Collection (Depository Services Program)
The Depository Services Program (DSP) began building a collection of Government of Canada electronic publications in 1995. The E-collection includes over 130,000 freely accessible titles. Currently, more than a thousand titles are added to our catalogue every month. These publications are produced by departments and agencies across the Government of Canada..

Google [Canada]
Most Canadian federal government Web sites include the phrases "gc" and "ca." Insert "site:gc.ca." into search statements to limit results to Canadian government materials.  For example, a search for "labour force site:gc.ca" retrieves information about the Canadian labour force published by a government agency.  "Labor force site:gc.ca" also works, but the British spelling is more common. 

Library and Archives Canada - Discover the Collection   "Library and Archives Canada’s (LAC) collection is the shared documentary heritage of all Canadians and spans the entire history of our country. The collection contains materials in all types of formats from across Canada and around the world that are of interest to Canadians."  (LAC website) 

Government of Canada Publications
Lockwood Reference Z 1373.C16 (quarterly; 1979-1992)

Statistics Canada Catalogue
Lockwood 3rd Floor  CAN CS11-204E (1972-1997 with gaps)

Microlog Canadian Research Index (Micromedia)
Lockwood Library Reference Z1365.M4 1979-1996 (Index)
Microlog indexes and reproduces on microfiche technical reports, research and policy papers, statistical materials, and annual reports produced by Canadian federal, provincial, and local governments, and Canadian universities and research institutes. Lockwood Library  purchased materials relating to Commerce and Economics, plus all items produced by Ontario Province between 1989 and 1996.  The print index provides access to documents by subjects, corporate and individual authors, and series titles. Two codes identify materials held by UB, CO (commerce and economics) and ON (Ontario). Microfiche is in the Lockwood Library  Microform Area at MicFiche Z1365 .M42.

 

 

 

 

 

Featured Resources

Government of Canada Publications
Indexes Canadian government publications.

Librarian

Susan Dow's picture
Susan Dow
Contact:
420A Lockwood Library
716-645-2819