American Literature: A Research & Reference Guide: Primary Sources
Primary Sources Online
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new windowPrimary source materials from the long nineteenth century revealing the rapid acceleration of scientific, technical, and medical knowledge and covering every aspect of science. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Women This link opens in a new windowPrimary source documents focused on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth to the early twentieth century, all through a transnational perspective.
More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY - African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new windowComplete text of seven 19th century African-American newspapers. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new windowA vast collection of American historical periodicals, 17th-20th century. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowPrimary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. More InfoFull-Text PUBLIC
- American National Biography This link opens in a new windowOffers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- American Periodicals Series (APS) Online This link opens in a new windowAmerican Periodical Series 1741-1900. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- American Slave: A Composite Autobiography This link opens in a new windowSlave narratives More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- American State Papers This link opens in a new windowsee U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection More InfoUB ONLY
- Archive Finder This link opens in a new windowRepositories located in the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland. More InfoUB ONLY
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender, Parts 1-2: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 This link opens in a new windowPrimary source documents on important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowDigitized images of America's historical newspapers. More InfoFull-Text PUBLIC
- Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective This link opens in a new windowContains the full text of major articles. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- Early American Imprints I This link opens in a new windowDefinitive resource for researching every aspect of 17th- and 18th-century America. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- Early Encounters in North America This link opens in a new windowLetters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between Native Americans, Europeans, Africans, and Americans. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window22 million digital page images of every work printed in the English language as well as works printed in Great Britain and its dependencies from 1473-1700 in any language. More InfoPartial Full-Text UB ONLY
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowThis collection contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA digital repository of online books and other scholarly materials. More InfoPartial Full-Text PUBLIC
- Literature Online This link opens in a new windowIndividual collections of poetry, fiction, drama & much more. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- Making of America This link opens in a new windowDigital library of primary sources in American social history. More InfoFull-Text PUBLIC
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728 - 1800 This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to articles from the newspaper known as the "New York Times" of the 18th century". More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- Readers Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new windowDetailed account of U.S. culture and history through the lens of middle America. More InfoPartial Full-Text UB ONLY
- Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new windowThe world's biggest archive of music journalism and pop writing of the last 60 years. More InfoStreaming Media UB ONLY
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery, Parts 1-4 This link opens in a new windowPrimary source documents on all aspects of the phenomenon of slavery and its abolition in the US, Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection This link opens in a new windowAn ongoing collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- Wright American Fiction 1851-1875 This link opens in a new windowCollection of 19th century American fiction. More InfoPUBLIC
