Skip to main content

Spanish & Latin American Literature: Selected Resources: Literary Histories, Criticism & Biographies


Literary Histories, Criticism and Biographies

  • Literature Resource Center contains full-text biographical, bibliographical, and critical analysis of more than 100,000 world authors and works throughout history and across all literary genres (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, and journalism). Enables you to search by literary movement (e.g., Harlem Renaissance), gender, or author ethnicity (e.g., African American).
     
  • Alborg, Juan Luis. Historia De La Literatura Española. Madrid: Editorial Gredos, 1966.
    Lockwood Library Reference PQ6032 .A45 PQ6032 .A45
    Covers the Middle Ages and Renaissance, the 17th century, the 18th century, Romanticism, and Realism and Naturalism with extensive bibliographic information in the footnotes.
     
  • Gullón, Ricardo. Diccionario De Literatura Española E Hispanoamericana. Madrid: Alianza Editorial, 1993.
    Lockwood Library Reference PQ6006 .D6 1993
    Short entries wioth bibliographies

Spain

  • Ward, Philip. The Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1978. 
    Lockwood Library Reference PQ6006 .O93
     
  • Centro de las Letras Españolas (Spain). Diccionario De Autores: Quién Es Quién En Las Letras Espanolas. Madrid: Fundación Germán Sánchez Ruipérez, 1988.
    Lockwood Library Z2693.3 .D53 1988 (5th floor)

Latin America

  • Bhalla, Alok., N Satish, L. S Ramaiah, and T. V Prafulla Chandra. Latin American Writers: A Bibliography With Critical Biographical Introductions. New York: Envoy Press, 1987.
    Lockwood Library PQ7081 .A1 L37 1989 (5th floor)
     
  • Valdés, Mario J., and Djelal Kadir. Literary Cultures of Latin America: A Comparative History. New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, 2004. 
    Lockwood Library Reference PQ7081.A1 L525 2004
     
  • R. Gonzalez Echevarria, E. Pupo-Walker. Cambridge Histories of Latin American Literature Cambridge ; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 1996.
    In print: Lockwood Library Reference PQ7081 .A1 C35 1996
     
  • Flores, Angel. Spanish American Authors: The Twentieth Century. Bronx, NY: H.W. Wilson, 1992.
    Lockwood Library Reference PQ7081.3 F57 1992 
    Excellent biographical essays, with bibliographies.
     
  • Ryan, Bryan. Hispanic Writers: A Selection of Sketches From Contemporary Authors. Detroit: Gale Research, 1991.
    Lockwood Library Reference PQ 7081.3 H58 1991
    Covers contemporary prominant Hispanic American authors.
     
  • Aira, César. Diccionario De Autores Latinoamericanos. Buenos Aires: Emecé, 2001.
    Lockwood Library PQ7081.3 .A35 2001

United States

  • Kanellos, Nicolás. Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature in the United States: The Literature of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Other Hispanic Writers. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. 
    Lockwood Library Reference PQ7420.2 K3 1989
    Covers almost exclusively Puerto Rican and Cuban writers in the United States. 

Librarian

Molly Poremski's picture
Molly Poremski
Contact:
221 Lockwood Memorial Library
(716) 645-7750
Website / Blog Page