Skip to main content

President of the United States: Selected Resources: Executive Orders and Proclamations


Executive Orders and Proclamations

  • Federal Register   The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents   1936-   Law Library Federal Core Collection; Koren AV Collection  US 005 A2

 

  •  Code of Federal Regulations -   the annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation.   Title 3 contains presidential materials.  1939-   Law Library Federal Core Collection; Koren AV Collection  US 005 A3

 

  • Public Papers of the Presidents -  Each Public Papers volume contains the papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary during the specified time period. The material is presented in chronological order, and the dates shown in the headings are the dates of the documents or events. In instances when the release date differs from the date of the document itself, that fact is shown in the text note.  Law  Library  J 80. A283  1929- 1933 (Hoover);  1945 (Truman) -  2011, v. 2 (Obama).  

 

  • The Public Papers and Addresses of Franklin D. Roosevelt.  v. 1-11  Lockwood Library  E806 .R749 1969

 

  • Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents -   This publication contains statements, messages, and other Presidential materials released by the White House during the preceding week. At the end of the President's term of office, all of the information compiled in the weekly publications is compiled into a volume of the Public Papers of the Presidents.    Law Library J 80 .A284  v. 1, no, 1, (1965) - v. 28, no.  43, Oct.. 1992)  

 

  • Executive Orders  Contains tables with summary information about, but not the text of, Executive Orders beginning with those signed by Franklin D. Roosevelt, arranged according to Presidential administration and year of signature. Executive Orders since 1993 are linked to their full text in the Federal Register .

 

  • Presidential Directives and Executive Orders  This site is part of the Federation of American Scientists'  "Intelligence Resources Program" and focuses on national security issues. Lists documents from selected time periods with some linked to the full text

Featured Resources

Federal Register  -  the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.  1994-

Code of Federal Regulations  -  the annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation.   Title 3 contains presidential materials.  1998-

Public Papers of the Presidents -  Each Public Papers volume contains the papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary during the specified time period. The material is presented in chronological order, and the dates shown in the headings are the dates of the documents or events. In instances when the release date differs from the date of the document itself, that fact is shown in the textnote.  1991-

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
This publication contains statements, messages, and other Presidential materials released by the White House during the preceding week. At the end of the President's term of office, all of the information compiled in the weekly publications is compiled into a volume of the Public Papers of the Presidents  1993 -

HeinOnline  - Contains a U.S. Presidential Library which includes Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents,  CFR Title 3(Presidents), the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and other documents.

Librarian

Susan Dow's picture
Susan Dow
Contact:
420A Lockwood Library
716-645-2819