Medical, Nursing, and Psychological Tests and Research Instruments: selected resources: Resources to Check
Resources to Check
- APA PsycTESTS This link opens in a new windowDatabase produced by the American Psychological Association contains the full-text of 10,000 tests, surveys, and other measures. Although many of these instruments originally appeared in journal articles, they are considered "unpublished" because they have not been published by commercial test publishers and often carry only minimal copyright restrictions.
UB ONLY - Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new windowAn index to journal articles about specific instruments. This database does not contain copies of tests or other instruments. It contains descriptions of questionnaires, rating scales, index mesures, scenarios, vignettes, observations, checklists, manuals, coding schemes, and projective techniques.
UB ONLY
- HSRR (Health Services and Sciences Research Resources)A searchable database of information about research datasets, instruments/indices and software. Examine and compare characteristics of some of the resources employed in Health Services Research, the Behavioral and Social Sciences and Public Health. Includes brief descriptions of research resources and links to PubMed and URLs of providers for additional information or access to the resources. HSRR is not a repository of the actual resources.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text online version of the print publication. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- Mental Measurements YearbookContains full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality vocational aptitude, psychology and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks from the 9th yearbook forward. Use for finding (1) test reviews, (2) information on an instruments’ validity and reliability, and (3) a description of a test. Available online from 1989+.
- Tests in Print VIIIHSL Reference Z 5814 .E9 T342
Most of the information in this book is available in the Mental Measurements Yearbook Online (see previous entry).
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes the literature of nursing and the allied health professions. Worth searching because it may lead you to an article where the test or survey instrument is not only mentioned, but also re-printed. Use the Instrumentation search field (under Indexes in EBSCO and More Fields in OVID).
Full Text UB ONLY - APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowUseful for finding articles in journals or book chapters on specific tests and other instruments in the psychology and behavioral literature. Search by keyword using two or three words from the name of the test you need and adding the keyword appended. This captures an appended copy of the test if one is available. Most often, however, PsycINFO does not contain copies of tests or other instruments.
Partial Full Text UB ONLY
- The Test Collection at ETSHelps you identify tests and measurement devices with information on availability and ordering. One of the largest compilations in the world with over 25,000 test and other measurement tools from the early 1900’s to the present.
- Test Reviews OnlineDescriptive information on more than 3,500 commercially available tests. Over 2,800 have reviews available for purchase.
- MEDLINE via Ovid This link opens in a new windowHelpful medical subject heading (MeSH) terms for the concept of tests and measurements include: questionnaires, psychological tests, and psychometrics. Consider searching using the important words from the title of a particular instrument.
Partial Full Text UB ONLY - Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowHas a clinical focus for healthcare practitioners. Very specific and can link with CINAHL. Also has a section with tools and tests including Personality Tests, Psychological Tests, Scales, and more.
UB ONLY - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowWorth a shot when you know a test title. Also try regular Google.
- Health Literacy Tool ShedFree, user-friendly, unique, curated online database of more than 100 empirically validated health literacy instruments.
- Screening and Surveillance Tools - University of Washington Medical Center and & Seattle's Children's Hospital - 1) Cite for clinical care of youth and their families, and 2) Professional Training
