Skip to main content

Microform Collections: Biography


Biography

Description

This collection reproduces descriptive information for more than 300,000 "common and uncommon" people who lived from the earliest period of North American history through the early 20th century. The information was taken from 367 different biographical reference sources, many of which were published prior to the 20th century. The entries are arranged on the fiche in last name alphabetic order.


Location

American Biographical Archives are available on microfiche at call number MicFiche E17 .A53 1986 . Check the library catalog for location.


Access

The index is an alphabetic name index which includes cross references for name variations. Each entry gives the fiche and frame number, and notes the person's birth-death dates, occupation, alternate name and occupation. It has call number E17 A53 1993 (v1-6) . Check the library catalog for location.

Description

This microfiche collection reproduces historical reference books that document  black American experiences. These titles include biographical dictionaries, histories and directories of African American organizations, encyclopedias, plus a variety of miscellaneous publications like; The Colored Aristocracy of St. Louis (1858), Hand Book on the Detroit Negro (1942), The Underground Rail Road (1872), etc.

The fiche are arranged by the number that is assigned to each reference book that is included in this collection.


Location

Black Biographical Dictionaries are available on microfiche at call number MicFiche E185.96 .B52 . Check the libary catalog for location.


Access

Black Biography 1790-1950: A Cumulative Index  is at call number Z1361.N39 B52 1991. The primary arrangement for this index is by person's name with each entry showing the assigned reference source title number(s) followed by page number(s). The last volume of this index contains indexes to the biographies by place of birth, occupation, religion, and sex.

Libraries' Catalog The title for each reference book in this collection appears in the UB Libraries Catalog. If you are interested in African-American reference works, you can find them doing a keyword search (the default search) that combines the phrase black biographical dictionaries with place names, subjects (writers, slavery, etc.), and/or words that describe the type of publications (handbook, encyclopedias. etc.).

Description

This collection reproduces descriptive information for over 170,000 people who lived from the earliest period of European history through the mid 20th century. The information was taken from 324 different biographical reference sources, many of which were published prior to the 20th century. The entries are arranged on the fiche alphabeticlly by last name.


Location

British Biographical Archives are available on microfiche at call number MicFiche DA28 .B75. Check the library catalog for location.


Access

British Biographical Index is at call number DA28 .B75 Index 1990

This index is an alphabetic name index which includes cross references for name variations. Each entry gives the fiche and frame number, and notes the person's birth-death dates, occupation, alternate/maiden name and occupation. It is shelved adjacent to the fiche collection.

Loading

Librarian

Donald Hartman's picture
Donald Hartman
Contact:
521 Lockwood Library, North Campus
(716) 645-7905