Skip to main content

Microform Collections: Business


Business

Description

Reproductions of the annual reports of companies that were listed on the New York, American or Toronto stock exchanges, from the years 1955 to 1972 (Note: coverage varies greatly between companies, i.e. some companies may only have one or two annual reports, while others will have a complete run of reports).


Location

Annual Reports of All Corporations Listed on the American, New York and Toronto Stock Exchanges are available on microcard at call number MicCard HG4575 .A66. Check the library catalog for location.


Access

Annual reports are filed alphabetically by the name of the company; then chronologically by year. Refer to the Index of Companies Listed to see what the collection contains.


Other Collections of Corporate Annual Reports

Description

10-K Reports are detailed annual reports which publicly-traded companies must file with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. In addition to financial statements, 10-K Reports provide extensive background information on the firm's operations, subsidiaries, business segments, properties, legal proceedings, and more

The library maintains a microfiche collection of 10-K Reports covering the years 1973 - 1996 and owns microfiche for all companies listed on the New York and American Stock Exchanges at the time the report was issued. For these earlier years, the library does not own microfiche 10-K Reports for companies listed only on regional exchanges, the NASDAQ system, or which trade over-the-counter.


Location

10-K Reports are available on microfiche at call number MicFiche HG4028 .B2D56 . Check the library catalog for location information.


Access

10-K Reports on microfiche are arranged alphabetically by company name, then by year within company. To determine whether a company was listed on the New York or American Stock Exchanges during the year in question, consult the "Compact D/SEC" database on CD-ROM, or ask a reference librarian.


Other Formats

EDGAR This Internet service of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, provides complete text of 10-Ks for all companies filing with the SEC. In most cases, coverage is limited to recent years' reports, but coverage for many larger companies goes back as far as 1994. From the EDGAR home page, click on "Search the EDGAR Database," then "Quick Form Lookup."

This service provides extensive summaries from all 10-K Reports dating back to 1987. Sophisticated screening and downloading capabilities can be used.

Description

Proxy Reports are annual reports which publicly-traded companies must submit to their shareholders prior to the annual shareholders meeting. Proxy Statements provide background information on major issues which the shareholders must vote upon, including election of officers , executive compensation packages, mergers, and other significant proposals

The UB Libraries has a microfiche collection of proxy statements covering the years 1973 - 1996. All companies listed on the New York and American Stock Exchanges at the time the report was issued are represented.


Location

Proxy Reports are available on microfiche at call number MicFiche HG 4028 B2 D56. Check the catalog for location.


Access

Proxy Reports on microfiche are arranged alphabetically by company name, then by year within company.


Other Formats

EDGAR This Internet service of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, provides complete text of Proxies for all companies filing with the SEC. In most cases, coverage is limited to recent years' reports, but coverage for many larger companies goes back as far as 1994.

Loading

Librarian

Donald Hartman's picture
Donald Hartman
Contact:
521 Lockwood Library, North Campus
(716) 645-7905