Skip to main content

Microform Collections: History (Local)


History (Local)

Description

This microfiche collection reproduces tax rolls for the city of Buffalo for certain years between 1846 and 1866 from the Erie County Treasure's Office. Includes information on the location of property, owner's names, lot size, assessed valuation, and amount of tax paid.

Records for the various years are filmed in an irregular order. The following lists the reels and their contents.

Reel No. Tax Rolls
6 1866-65
7 1864-65
12 1861-60
13 1860-59
16 1856, 55, 54
18 1852, 51, 46

On the reel within each year there is an index.


Location

Tax Rolls are available at call number MicFilm F127.E6 C4 . Check library catalog for location.

Description

The Federal Population Census Rolls reproduce the names and details of individuals as recorded at the time of the census.

The Libraries have the following rolls for Erie County:

  • 1820 (reel 114, as part of Niagara County)
  • 1830 (reel 114)
  • 1840 (reel 90)
  • 1850 (reels 189-192)
  • 1860 (reels 166-167)
  • 1870 (reels 133-135)
  • 1880 (reels 826-832)
  • 1900 (reels 1024-1034, 1210)
  • 1910 (reels 35, 938-948)
  • 1920 (reels 1099-1111)
  • 1930 (reels 1421-1437)

The rolls are published by the National Archives and Records Administration and are assigned roll numbers based on state and county. Within each county the names are listed by address within electoral district. For a complete list of all the rolls published, refer to the National Archives census page. We do not own the indexes for these reels. (These are more easily seached on several websites. See a librarian for assistance.)


Location

The Federal Population Census Rolls are available at call number MicFilm F127 .E6 S2 . Check the library catalog for location.


Access

The rolls are filed by census year, then by roll number. Knowing the address of the household for which you are looking can be helpful. Refer to Lockwood's collection of city directories for address information.

Description

The State Census Rolls for the Erie County state population censuses conducted in 1855, 1865, 1875, 1892, 1905, 1915, and 1925 are owned by UB. Included are schedules for towns in Erie County plus the city of Buffalo by wards. Specific information recorded varies year to year. Generally the following types of data can be found:  names of household residents, age, sex, race and relationship to the head of the household, place of birth, marital status. The reels are arranged in chronological order. For each census year, the schedule for Buffalo by ward comes first followed by the schedules for the towns alphabetically by name.

We own only Erie County. For other counties see the NYS Library page.


Location

State Census Rolls are available at call number MicFilm F 127 .E6 B8 . Check the library catalog for location.


Access

See the catalog record for the title  "Buffalo & Erie County Buffalo & towns census records" for indication of which reel to use.

There are no aids in the Libraries that directly assist in locating a particular household on the reels. The Special Collection section of the main branch of the Buffalo and Erie County Public Library has a collection of ward maps. Knowing the address of the household for which you are looking can be helpful. Refer to Lockwood's collection of city directories for address information.

Description

This collection includes local and regional histories and atlases published in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Among items in the collection are vital statistics, military records, lists and biographies of local officers, chronologies, portraits, maps, and town and city plans.


Location

New York County and Regional Histories and Atlases are available on microform at call number MicFiche F119.N49. Check the library catalog for location.


Access

All titles are in the libraries' catalog. Do a title search for "New York County and Regional Histories and Atlases" to see the titles available.

Additional access is available through:

Reel Index to the Microform Collection of New York County and Regional Histories and Atlases.  F119.N49 Reel Index

Loading

Librarian

Donald Hartman's picture
Donald Hartman
Contact:
521 Lockwood Library, North Campus
(716) 645-7905