Skip to main content

Microform Collections: Literature


Literature

Description

The American Poetry, 1609-1870 collection is based on the Harris Collection of American Poetry and Playsat Brown University. Covering nearly 300 years of American poetry, this collection holds the verse of both major and minor American poets as they appeared in individual and collective works. In addition, translations of writings by American poets published in foreign imprints, foreign poets writing about America and writings by American poets living abroad are also included. The American Poetry collection consists of three segments. The UB Libraries own only the third segment.

Segment I: 1609-1820 Segment II: 1821-1850 Segment III: 1851-1870


Location

American Poetry, 1609-1870 is located at call number MICFILM PS601 .A53; check the library catalog for location.


Access

Individual titles are located in the library catalog.

Additional access is available through:

American Poetry, 1609-1870. This Primary Source Microfilm reel guide for the entire collection is available through the Thomson Gale website. The list for Segment III begins on page 255.

Description

The Black Literature, 1827-1940 collection brings together novels, short stories, poems and reviews from black periodicals and newspapers. Black authors, denied publication by mainstream American institutions, turned to their own local newspapers and magazines to give voice to their literary concerns. The entire collection consists of 2,997 fiche and contains more than 150,000 literary works. UB Libraries own Fiche 1-993.


Location

Black Literature, 1827-1940 is available at call number MicFiche PS647.A35 B52 1987. Check the library catalog for location information.


Access

An online index allows users to search bibliographic citations for every item in the Black Literature, 1827-1940 collection. Items not owned may be requested through Delivery+.

Description

This collection consists microfilm copies of books printed in English from the advent of printing in England in 1475 through 1640.

In addition to the monographs, the collection includes military, legal, Parliamentary and other public documents as well as original almanacs, calendars, broadsides, liturgies and popular pamphlets.


Location

Early English Books, 1475-1640 is located at call number MicFilm PR1121 .U6. Check the library catalog for location.

They are also available online as Early English Books Online.


Access

Individual titles are not all located in the library catalog.

Access is available through:

Items for this collection are taken from the following bibliographies:

Indexes to the collection:

  • Early English books, 1475-1640: Cross Index to Reels. This material provides cross-indexing of STC (Short Title Catalog) numbers with reel numbers for items filmed.  PR1121 .U6 Cross Index Check the library catalog for location.
  • Early English books, 1475-1640: A Guide to the Microform Collection. This guide lists the contents of each “subscription unit” by reel. PR1121 .U6 Index Check the library catalog for location.

 

A Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland, and of English Books Printed Abroad, 1475-1640.  Z2002 .P77  (also at  Z2002 .J3) Check library catalog for locations.

English Short Title Catalogue 1473-1800. This CD-ROM includes the Eighteenth Century Short-Title Catalog (ESTC) and the two print short-title catalogs covering 1475-1700.   Z699.4 .E17 1998  Check the catalog for location.

Description

Microfilm copies of most books printed in Britain and books in English printed elsewhere for the period 1641-1700.


Location

Early English Books, 1641-1700 are available on microform at call number MicFilm PR1121 .U62 . Check the library catalogy for location. They are also available online as  EEBO (Early English Books Online)


Access

Individual titles are cataloged in Libraries' Catalog. (reel and item number are indicated in the record).

Items for this collection are taken from the following bibliographies (Check the library catalogy for location):

  • Wing short-title catalogue, 1641-1700 available at CD-ROM Z2002 .W525 1996
  • Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British America and of English Books Printed in Other Countries, 1641-1700 at Z2002.W52. By using the “Wing” numbers listed in this book, reel numbers for individual titles may be located using the Cross Index listed below.
Indexes to the collection (Check the library catalogy for location) :
  • Early English Books, 1641-1700: A Cross Index to the Microfilm Collection at PR1121.U62 provides cross-indexing of Wing numbers with reel numbers for items filmed.
  • Early English Books, 1641-1700; A Guide to the Microfilm Collection. at  PR1121.U62 lists the contents of each “subscription unit” by reel.

Description

This collection is also known as English Literary Periodical Series.  It includes periodicals published in Great Britain during the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries and is predominantly literary in nature, but also includes theatrical, satirical, political, religious, and women's magazines.

Important writers represented, include, Defoe, Addison, Steele, Swift, Smollett, Goldsmith, Johnson, Mill, Hunt, Lamb, Tennyson, Dickens, and George Eliot. Famous journals represented include the Spectator, the Guardian, the Rambler, the Monthly Review, and the New London Magazine.


Location

Call numbers vary by title; most are MicFilm AP3 or AP4. Check the library catalog for locations.


Access

Some of the titles in this collection are accessible via the Libraries catalog.

Accessing English Literary Periodicals: a Guide to the Microfilm Collection. This guide contains title, subject, editor and reel number indexes. Article-level indexing is not provided.  Z692 .S5 U56 1981

The collection is based on this bibliography: Studies in the Early English Periodical.  PN5124 .P4 B6

Description

Based on, but not limited to, Michael Sadleir's 19th Century Fiction: A Bibliographical Record, (Rare Books Z2014.F4 S16 1951)

This collection includes more than eight hundred titles by such authors as W.H. Ainsworth, Richard D. Blackmore, Edward G.E. Lytton, Charles Dickens, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Thomas Hardy, Bret Harte, Henry James, Charles J. Lever, Sir Walter Scott, Robert Louis Stevenson, and William Makepeace Thackeray.


Location

Victorian Fiction is available on microfilm at call number MicFilm PZ1 .N67. Check the catalog for location information.


Access

Titles are listed in the catalog. Locate titles with call number search, or use reel titles as keywords. Reels have various titles: Nineteenth Century English Fiction, Victorian and other Nineteenth Century Fiction;Victorian Fiction or OmniSys collection of Victorian Fiction.

Description

This collection contains more than 13,000 pieces of prose fiction written by Americans between 1774 and 1905. It includes novels, short stories, romances, fictitious biographies, travel accounts, allegories and other fictional genre. The titles in volumes I, II, and III represent nearly all of the titles found in Lyle H. Wright’s 3-volume bibliography, American Fiction: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography. Volume IV of the collection extends the project into the 20th century. This section includes more than 2,600 additional titles gathered from the holdings of major American fiction collections, following the selection criteria established by Wright.


Location

Wright American Fiction, 1774-1905 is located at call number MicFilm PZ1 .A4. Check the catalog for location information.


Access

Individual titles are located in the catalog.

Additional access is available through:

American Fiction, 1774-1900: Cumulative Author Index of the Microfilm Collection PZ1 .A4 Author Index  This is a consolidated, alphabetical listing of all works contained in volumes I, II, and III of the microfilm collection.

Index to the Microfilm Edition of American Fiction at PZ1 .A4 Index.  This index is made up of four volumes: Vol. I 1774-1850, Vol. II 1851-1875, Vol. III 1876-1900, Vol. IV 1901-1905.

Wright American Fiction, 1851-1875 A digital library produced by the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC), and hosted by Indiana University Digital Library Program.

Loading

Librarian

Donald Hartman's picture
Donald Hartman
Contact:
521 Lockwood Library, North Campus
(716) 645-7905