Skip to main content

Microform Collections: Theater


Theater

Description

This is a collection of 25 memoirs by noted directors, producers, actors, writers and cinematographers. Topics covered include theories of cinematography, the effects of television on the motion picture industry, minorities in films, and the McCarthy era. Each interview begins with a brief biography. Included are:

  • Berndt, Eric M., 1903-
  • Brahm, John, 1893-1982
  • Callow, Ridgeway
  • Crosby, Floyd, 1899-1985
  • Dawn, Norman O., 1884-1975
  • Friedhofer, Hugo
  • Garnett, Tay
  • Gershenson, Joseph
  • Groves, George R., 1901-
  • Hoffman, Jerry, 1900-
  • Horsley, David Stanley, 1906-
  • Kaper, Bronislaw, 1902-
  • Koch, Howard
  • Leisen, Mitchell, 1898-1972
  • Polonsky, Abraham
  • Rosson, Harold, 1895-
  • Seaton, George, 1911-
  • Seitz, John F., d. 1979
  • Shurlock, Geoffrey, 1894-
  • Stewart, Donald Ogden, 1894-
  • Stewart, James G., 1907-
  • Swanson, H. N.
  • Warren, Harry, 1893-
  • Wilbur, Crane, 1886-1973

 

Under the title Early Sound and Music Editors, you will find: George Adams, June Edgerton, Walter Elliott, Joseph Henrie, Milo Lory, Evelyn Rutledge, Robert Tracy.


Location

The microfiche for this collection have various call numbers. Check the libary catalog for location.


Access

Items in the collection are each listed in the library catalog. They can be located with a title search forAmerican Film Institute/Louis B. Mayer Oral History Collection or with a search for the memoirist as the keyword.

The index to the collection is called Oral History Guide. It has call number Reference AI 3 .O7 no. 2 (p. 2 lists the persons interviewed). Check the library catalog for location.

Description

This collection consists of transcripts of weekly seminars held from 1967 to 1976 under the auspices of the American Film Institute. The interview subjects are distinguished representatives from the motion picture and television industries who offer insight into acting, directing, producing, and script writing, and fascinating anecdotes. This collection is part of the New York Times Oral History Program.


Location

The five rolls of microfilm for this collection are located at call number MicFilm PN 1998 .A2 A58. Check library catalog for location.


Access

Each item is listed in the UB Libraries Catalog. Items can be located with a search for American film institute seminars or with a search by the name of the subject of the interview.

The index to the collection is called Oral History Guide and it has call number AI3 .O7. No. 2 (pp. 3-7) lists the persons interviewed. Check library catalog for location.

Description

This collection is a reproduction of John Bell's 34-volume collection Bell's British Theatre, which contains 140 plays by well-known and lesser-known British playwrights. Plays are dated 1791-1802.


Location

Bell's British Theatre is available on microcard with call number MicCard PR1241 .B35. Check the library catalog for location.

The database Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides full coverage online.


Access

All titles are in the library catalog.

Additional access is available through:

Three Centuries of English and American Plays: A Checklist at call number  Reference PN6110.5.W3 B3. Check the library catalog for location.

Plays included in this microcard collection can be found under the heading “Bell's British Theatre,” pp. 20-22.

Description

This collection attempts to reproduce every American and British play written during the 19th century. It includes historical drama, melodrama, comic pantomime, extravaganzas, satiric comedies and burlettas. The collection covers manuscripts, prompt books, acting editions and published plays. The microcard collection was issued until 1985 when it was continued by the microfiche collections listed below.


Location

Check the library catalog for location of the following items:

  • English and American Drama of the Nineteenth Century
    • MicPrint PS632 .R4 (American 1830-1900)
    • MicPrint PR1271 .R4 (English1801-1900)
  • Nineteenth Century American Drama MicFiche PS632 .N55
  • Nineteenth Century English Drama MicFiche PR1271 .R42

Access

The majority of individual titles are located in the library catalog.

Additional access is available through:

  • Nineteenth Century American Drama: a Finding Guide. This guide provides access to American plays filmed through 1976.  PS632 .R4 Guide
  • Readex Nineteenth Century English and American Plays Collection: Checklist. This checklist provides indexing to all three titles.  PR1271 .R423

Description

This collection contains more than 10,000 Spanish, Catalonian, and South American plays published from the sixteenth century on. Consists of original, as well as later additions of one-act plays called sainete, entremés, and paso; translations and school texts. Includes playwrights such as Lope Félix de Vega Carpio, José de Canizares, Luis Pascual Frutos, Francisco Martinez de la Rosa, José Jackson Veyán, and Jacinto Grau Delgado.


Location

Spanish Drama is located at call number: MicCard PQ6217 .F2. Check the library catalog for location information. Request items through Delivery+.


Access

The collection is sometimes called "Four centuries of Spanish drama."  For access, see "A Bibliography of Spanish Plays on Microcards" by Lawrence Thompson. Z2694 .D7 T48 .

Description

This collection, also cited as Three centuries of English and American Plays, reproduces the texts of more than 5,000 plays in the English language. It includes a collection of English drama (1500-1800) and American drama (1714-1830), as well as the Larpent plays.

The plays have been divided into the following categories: 1500-1641 Elizabethan, Shakespeare, Jacobean 1624-1700 Restoration 1701-1750 Early 18th Century 1751-1800 Late 18th Century 1714-1830 American plays 1737-1800 Larpent Collection of Manuscripts


Location

Three Centuries of Drama is located at call number MicPrint PN6110.5 .W3. Check the library catalog for location information.


Access

Individual titles are located in the catalog.

Additional access is available through:

Three centuries of English and American plays, a checklist. England: 1500-1800, United States: 1714-1830.   Z2014 .D7 B45  Check catalog for location.

Loading

Librarian

Donald Hartman's picture
Donald Hartman
Contact:
521 Lockwood Library, North Campus
(716) 645-7905