Skip to main content

Microform Collections: Women's Studies


Women's Studies

Description

The collection includes 117 pamphlets published between 1814 and 1912. Topics addressed include industrial and political independence of women, women and war, improving the education of women, wage-earning women and the state, militant methods for achieving women’s rights, property laws and women, suffrage, marriage and family relations, socialism, and moral reform.

Authors of individual pamphlets include notable women’s rights advocates such as Jane Addams, Charles A. Beard, Caroline Corbin, Max Eastman, John Stuart Mill, Lucretia Mott, Wendell Phillips, and Elizabeth Cady Stanton. Pamphlets containing the proceedings of the National Women’s Rights Convention of 1850, as well as other significant women’s conferences during this century are included in the collection.


Location

The Cornell University Collection of Women’s Rights Pamphlets is located at call number MicFiche HQ1236 .C67 1974. Check the catalog for location.


Access

Individual titles are located in Libraries' catalog.

Additional access is available through: Cornell University Collection of Women’s Rights Pamphlets: Contents Guide HQ1236 .C67 1974 Guide.  Check the catalog for location.

This guide consists of three sections: Section I: chronological order of pamphlets with contents abstract Section II: author index Section III: alphabetical listing of organizations and government reports.

Description

Herstory Supplementary Set I contains updates to the original Herstory collection through June 1973.Herstory is a comprehensive collection of materials produced by and about women’s movements. The collection includes journals and newsletters produced by civic, professional, religious, political and peace groups. It covers many areas of women’s studies, including history, politics, employment, peace movements, and women’s liberation campaign literature, among others.

The original Herstory collection (covering 1956-1971) is not owned by the University at Buffalo Libraries, but is available at the Buffalo and Erie County Library’s Central Library in the Grosvenor Room. (Ask for microfilm number 222).

The guide to the original collection is at Z7962 .W67 1972 Guide. Check the UB Libraries' catalog for location information


Location

Herstory: Supplementary Set I is available at MicFilm Z7962 .W672 1976. Check the catalog for location. Individual titles are not in the catalog.


Access

Reel Guide to Herstory Supplementary Set I, located at call number Z7962.W672 1976 Guide lists the contents of each reel and contains a title index to Supplementary Sets I and II.

Description

Comprised of literature, published before 1920, about women and issues related to women. The collection includes:
12,000 books
2,000 pamphlets
1,000 photographs
100,000 manuscript pages

The majority of the collection falls within the period 1750-1920. Twenty percent of the collection is in western European languages, the remainder is in English. Topics covered include: birth control, education, humanities, the professions, suffrage, and politics.


Location

History of Women is available at call number MicFilm HQ 1121.H67 . Check the library catalog for location.


Access

All titles are in the library catalog. Additional access is available through: History of Women: Guide to the Microfilm Collection  at call number Z7965.H577 1983b; see library catalog for location.

Primary Source Microfilm has an online guide to the collection.

See also the related microform collection:

  • Herstory. MicFilm Z7962.W672 1976 with access through Herstory : Microfilm Collection Table of Contents.  Z7962.W672 1976

Description

This primary source collection documents economic, social, and political women’s rights issues from the mid-19th century to the 1930s. The microforms reproduce the complete runs (with minor gaps) of periodicals of special interest for women's studies. 


Location

There is no call number for the collection as a whole. Call numbers have been assigned to each title in the collection. Some titles are microfiche and some are microfilm. Titles included are listed below.


Access

  • Individual titles are in the Library Catalog.
  • The Forerunner  MicFiche HQ1101 .F6
  • Liberal Review  MicFilm AP2 .L54
  • The Lily  MicFilm HV5285 .L5
  • Lucifer, the Light-bearer  MicFilm HN51 .L9
  • Mother Earth Bulletin  MicFiche HX821 M82
  • The National Citizen and Ballot Box  MicFilm JK1880 N3
  • The Revolution  MicFilm HQ1101 .R4
  • The Woman’s Column  MicFilm HQ1871 .P37
  • Woman Worker MicFilm HQ1871 .P37
  • The Progressive Woman  MicFilm HQ1871 .P37
  • Life and Labor  MicFilm HD6050 .L48
  • The Lady’s Friend  MicFilm AP2 .L253
  • The Ladies Garment Worker  MicFilm HD6515.C6 L3
  • The Keystone  MicFilm HQ1871 .P37
  • The Coming Nation  MicFilm HQ1871 .P37
  • The Club Woman  MicFilm HQ1871 .C7
  • The Woman’s Protest  MicFilm JK1880 W6
  • The Woman Voter  MicFilm JK1880 .W75
  • Western Woman Voter  MicFilm JK1880 W35
  • The Una  MicFilm HQ1101 .U6
  • The Stiletto  MicFilm AP2 .S913

Description

The National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs, Inc (NACWC), founded in 1896, works to find solutions to the social, cultural, and educational needs of black women and children. This microfilm collection offers researchers access to the records of this crucial social movement. It documents the founding of the organization, the role it has played in the political, economic, and social development of today’s African American community, and its involvement in national and international reform movements.

The collection is in two parts: Part I includes convention proceedings, news clippings, the organization’s newsletters (National Notes and National Association Notes), and president’s office files 1918-1958. Part II consists of president’s office files, 1958 to1968.


Location

Records of the National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs, 1895-1992 is available  at call numberMicFilm E185.86 .R43 1993. Check the library catalog for location information.


Access

For access to the collection consult the reel guides: Guide to the Microfilm Edition of Records of the National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs located at call number Reference MicFilm E185.86 .R43 1993 Guides are also online through Lexis Nexus: Guide to part 1 Guide to part 2

Description

Contains manuscript diaries which chronicle British Quaker women's lives in the 18th and 19th centuries, including some material concerning ministerial duties in North America and travel to the West Indies.

To locate individual titles, consult the guides listed below.


Location

Quaker Women's Diaries are available on microform at call number MicFilm BX7793 .Q35 .Check the library catalog for location information.


Access

Quaker Women's Diaries, 18th-19th Centuries: List of Content and Index to Reels is located at BX7793 .Q35 Contents. Check the catalog for location.
Pages 1-3 contain a guide to reels 1-5; pages 4 and 5 contain a guide to reels 6-8.

Description

The collection contains newspaper and magazine articles, government and organization reports, pamphlets and other materials documenting the political, economic, and cultural lives of American women from the 1950's.


Location

Schlesinger Library Vertical File is available on microfiche at call number MicFiche HQ 1410 .S26 1990(NOTE: UB Libraries only own Part 1: Biographies).  Check the library catalog for location information.


Access

Individual titles are not in the Libraries' Catalog.

Fiche are organized alphabetically by the name of the person who is the subject of the document.

Refer to the Index to the Schlesinger Library Vertical File to see what the collection contains (Note: UB Libraries only own Part 1: "Biographies" of the Schlesinger vertical file collection). A print copy of theIndex to the Schlesinger Library Vertical File is at  MicFiche HQ1410.S26 1990 Index. Check catalog for location.

Loading

Librarian

Donald Hartman's picture
Donald Hartman
Contact:
521 Lockwood Library, North Campus
(716) 645-7905