Skip to main content

Short Stories: Online Resources

The H.W. Wilson Company's Short Story Index defines short stories as "a brief narrative of not more than 150 average-sized pages." This guide will enable you to locate the full-text of short stories as well as criticism and interpretation about them.

Online Resources

Online Databases

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
Summaries of the lives and works of over 100,000 current writers in fiction, poetry, television, radio, general non-fiction, drama, and movies. Additional entries cover major 20th Century authors.

Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
Leads to full-text access to over 9,000 critical and biographical essays on British and American authors from all eras and genres.

Humanities Source
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world; includes original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

Literature Resource Center
A complete literature reference database much of which is full text. Short story criticism is included.

MLA International Bibliography
The premier resource for locating information on topics in literature, language, linguistics and literary criticism.

Literature Online
A set of databases which provide access to full-text, fully searchable electronic versions of poetry, fiction, drama, and reference works, as well as links to additional relevant web resources, and selected secondary sources.

Select Internet Resources

Classic Reader
A large collection of full text books, plays and short stories by authors such as Chekhov, Poe and Wodehouse.

Classic Short Stories
A collection of classic short fiction in English available for online reading. Includes a bibliography and a dictionary for the included stories.

Literary Resources on the Net
This award winning guide to American and English literature is an extensive jumping-off point to a wealth of literary materials on the Web. Use the simple search engine to locate your writer or browse the various categories.

IPL Online Literary Criticism Collection
Contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period.

Contact

Profile Image
Laura Taddeo
 
 
 
Contact:
522 Lockwood Library, North Campus
(716) 645-7970
Website / Blog Page