Skip to main content

Plays: Locating Plays: Play Digests/Synopses

This guide lists resources for locating the full-text of plays published individually, in periodicals, as part of collections and anthologies, or online. Resources for monologues, play digests and synopses, and production histories are also listed.

Play Digests/Synopses

The following sources provide a digest or synopsis of plays. Information about cast length, production history, criticism and references for further study may also be included.


A Digest of 500 plays; Plot Outlines and Production Notes 
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PN6112.5 .S42 1966


The Crown Guide to the World's Great Plays, from Ancient Greece to Modern Times 
LOCKWOOD Reference PN6112.5 .S45 1984


Drury's Guide to Best Plays 
LOCKWOOD Reference PN1655 .D8 1987


The Encyclopedia of the American Theatre, 1900-1975 
MUSIC General Collection PN 2266 B68


500 Plays: Plot Outlines and Production Notes  
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PN6112.5 .D54 1988


​Masterplots II. Drama Series 
LOCKWOOD Library Reference PN6112.5 .M37 1990


Modern World Theater: A Guide to Productions in Europe and the United States since 1945 
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PN6112.5 .K513


Plot Outlines of Shakespeare's Histories, Scene by Scene 
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PR2982 .M23


​Theatre: Stage to Screen to Television 
LOCKWOOD Reference PN2189 .L44


​20th-Century Plays in Synopsis 
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PN6112.5 .S68


Recorded Plays: Indexes to Dramatists, Plays, and Actors 
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PN1701.5 .H64 1985


The Encyclopedia of Stage Plays into Film 
LOCKWOOD Reference PN1997.85 .T544 2001


International Dictionary of Theatre 
LOCKWOOD Reference PN2000 .I474 1992 
Covers 620 notable plays, including summaries, dates of publication and first productions, and references to other critical discussions. Volume 1 covers Plays, Volume 2 Playwrights, Volume 3 Actors, Directors and Designers.

Librarian

Laura Taddeo's picture
Laura Taddeo
Contact:
522 Lockwood Library, North Campus
(716) 645-7970
Website / Blog Page