Skip to main content

English Literature: A Research & Reference Guide: Literary Criticism (Print)


Literary Criticism (Print)

British Humanities Index
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference Index Area: AI3 .B7

The English Novel. 1578-1956: a Checklist of Twentieth Century Criticism
LIBRARIES ANNEX / General Collection: Z2014 .F5 B4 1974

English Novel Explication: Criticisms to 1972
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: Z2014 .F5 P26

Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN86 .L53
An authoritative international resource that covers works from the late Middle Ages, Renaissance and Restoration.

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN761 .N5
A source of commentary on the careers and works of poets, novelists, short-story writers, dramatists and philosophers who died between 1800 and 1899.

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN771 .G27
Provides information on more than 2,000 authors now living or who lived between 1900 and 1960. Entries include a portrait, biographical and critical information, a list of principal works, excerpts from criticism, explanatory notes and bibliographical citations, and suggested further reading.

Contemporary Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PN94 .C62
Contains over 35,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Entries include lists of biographical, critical, and principal works, as well as information for further study.

Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
Cataloged by individual title
Outlines the lives and careers of writers from all eras. Entries consist of a biographical and critical sketch, as well as an extensive bibliography. See also, DLB Online

Index to Commonwealth Little Magazines, 1964
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference Index Area: AI3 .I48
Covers English-language little magazines published in Commonwealth and ex-Commonwealth countries. Indexes journal articles and book reviews.

Cambridge History of English Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Book Collection: PR83 .C22 1960
Standard literary history. Includes essays on poetry, fiction, drama, history, theology and political writing.

Oxford History of English Literature
Cataloged by individual title
Standard literary history. Volumes include a chronology, bibliography and information on major and minor writers as well as social, scientific, political and religious contexts.

The New Moulton's Library of Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR85 .N39 1985
An updated and expanded version of Moulton's Library of Literary Criticism of English and American Authors (1901), it includes authors from the Medieval through the Edwardian eras.

The Critical Perspective: Twentieth-Century Criticism
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR85 .C76 1985
Multi-volume set contains excerpts from 20th century criticism on writers whose works pre-date 1904. Arranged chronologically.

Twentieth-Century British Literature
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: PR473 .T84 1985
Criticism of modern authors from the United Kingdom and its former colonies.

Index to Book Reviews in England 1749-1774
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: Z1035 .A1F67 1990
Volume covering 1749-1774 lists reviews for 3,023 works of English poetry, fiction, and drama.

Index to Book Reviews in England 1775-1800.
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY / Reference: Z1035 .A1F675 1997
Volume covering 1750-1800 lists reviews for 4,984 works of English poetry, fiction, and drama.

Librarian

Profile Image
Laura Taddeo
Contact:
522 Lockwood Library, North Campus
(716) 645-7970
Website / Blog Page