Skip to main content

Art History: Guide to Research: Finding Overviews


Finding overviews

Encyclopedias/Dictionaries are also good starting places. They provide an overview of a topic, define terms and identify key people in the field. They include bibliographies that list additional books, articles, and other resources on the topic.

Contemporary Artists (LML Ref N6490 .C6566 1989; LML N6490 .C6566 1983; LML N6490 .C6566, 1977)
Contains brief biographies and comprehensive bibliographies by and about significant contemporary artists. Most entries include the artist's of intent, a critic's statement about the artist's work, and extensive bibliographies listing publications by and about the artist. Check both volumes, since they 1983 edition does not include all of 1977 edition.

International Dictionary of Art and Artists (LML, SEL/UGL Ref N31 .I58 1990) vol. I, Artists; vol. II, Art. Encyclopedia of European and American art and artists from the Renaissance to 1990. Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

Encyclopedia of World Art , 1959. (APL, LML, UGL/SEL Ref N31. E4833 and LML Book collection) 17 volumes, plus supplements. Index in vol. 15.
Arranged by time periods, provides detailed and authoritative essays on artists, architecture, and works of art. Use index in vol. 15 to locate information on specific artists, architects, buildings, time periods, and works of art. Includes extensive bibliographies as well as color plates. Includes detailed images, illustrations, and plans for art and architecture. Especially good for classical art and architecture.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Art , 1969. 5 volumes (LML Ref N33 .M23)
Over 15,000 entries, some signed with bibliographic references, covering art in all periods.

Librarian

Rose Orcutt's picture
Rose Orcutt
Contact:
Architecture & Planning Library
303 Abbott Hall
Buffalo, NY 14214
(716)645-1325