Skip to main content

Newspaper Research: UB Campus Newspapers and Magazines


UB Campus Newspapers and Magazines

Currently there are two general-interest newspapers published at UB. They each have online counterparts.

The Spectrum

is the student newspaper, published since 1950. Current issues are available in the Lockwood Newspapers Area. The online version of the Spectrum retains one year of issues.Some older issues are being added to the NYHeritage site. The Spectrum is also available on Microfilm in Lockwood Memorial Library at MicFilm LH1 .B37 S63 and in UB Libraies Digital Collections.


The Reporter

is the UB community newspaper, published since 1970. The print version was discontinued in 2009. The online version of the Reporter is published weekly and allows a search of past issues back to 1993. Print copies are archived in Special Collections in the University Archives Periodical Collection. The Reporter is also available on Microfilm in Lockwood Memorial Library at MicFilm LH1 .B37 R47

 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A wide variety of campus newspapers and magazines are kept in the University Archives. A few of them are listed here:

Title

Description

Years

Argus

a student newspaper intended to be more socially conscious than the previously established student newspaper, The Bee. Available in the University at Buffalo Student Newspapers, 1921-1950 digital collection.

1947-1950

  The Bee

a general study paper (note: Argus and The Bee merged in 1950 to form the Spectrum). For more information see the University Archives' permanent online exhibit, "Student Life at UB."  Available in the University at Buffalo Student Newspapers, 1921-1950 digital collection.

1921-1950

  Bison

a "wit and humor" magazine for students.

1920-1941

  Ethos

intended to reflect the philosophy of the student body and to provide a more conservative alternative to the Spectrum.

1968-1978

  Generation

a weekly student magazine published by Sub-Board I, Inc.
Also available online 2000-present.

1984-present

  Graduate Quill

graduate student magazine published by the Graduate Student Association.

1991-present

  Reporter

a campus community newspaper published by the Division of External Affairs, University at Buffalo.
Search old issues online at http://www.buffalo.edu/ubreporter/searchresults.html?

1970-present

 Spectrum

current student newspaper.
Some older issues available online.
Some issues available in The Spectrum, 1950-1962 digital collection

1950-present

  UB Today

UB's alumni magazine.
Also available online 1995-present.

1978-present

To locate additional titles, please search the UB Libraries Catalog.

Some subject heading searches to try:
College student newspapers and periodicals--New York (State)--Buffalo
Universities and colleges--New York (State)--Buffalo--Periodicals

For more information, contact the University Archives using the Reference Request Form or by calling (716) 645-2916. The University Archives is located in Special Collections on the 4th floor of Capen Hall inside Silverman Library. For directions and parking information, see the About Special Collections web site.

 

Librarian

Donald Hartman's picture
Donald Hartman
Contact:
521 Lockwood Library, North Campus
(716) 645-7905