Skip to main content

Foreign Governments: Individual Countries / Regions of the World


Individual Countries / Regions of the World

Africa

Action Africa (Includes the American Committee on Africa (ACOA), Africa Fund, and the Africa Policy Information Center (APIC))
Action Africa promotes political, economic, and social justice in Africa. Arrangement is by countries and issues. Topics deal with general resources; trade and investment; economy and development; human rights; peace and security; and education.

African Studies Internet Resources (Columbia University)
Topics cover online catalogs from major libraries; bibliographies; African Studies journals and newspapers; resources by regions and countries; resources by topics; and links to other university Web sites.


Asia

Asian Development Bank
Select information by topics or by countries. The country approach includes links to assistance plans; economic trends and key economic indicators; summaries of development projects; and publications. Selected publications are full text.

Virtual Library: Asian Studies (WWW Virtual Library)
Connects to information about the entire continent, including regional and country guides.


Europe

Environmental Performance Reviews Programme (U.N. Economic Commission for Europe. Environment and Human Settlements Division)

Environmental Performance Reviews evaluate efforts to reduce pollution and manage natural resources; integrate environmental and socioeconomic policies; and harmonize environmental conditions and policies with other nations. Emphasis is upon Eastern Europe and the former Soviet republics. Selected topics cover planning; waste management; air and water pollution; agriculture; transportation; energy; health; minerals; and economic regulations.

European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)
EBRD attempts to promote development among the new market economies in Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union. Select the Countries and Sectors link to view detailed information for 27 nations and major issues. The Projects section includes case studies and project summaries that are often unpublished.

WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources (Elizabethtown College)
Links to local, national, and regional search engines; international organizations; and virtual libraries for the European Union, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, and the United Kingdom.


Latin America (includes Mexico)

Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC/CEPAL)
The link to the Analysis and Research section is particularly useful. Issues covered include population; labor; education; social security; housing; health; foreign trade; local and regional development; agriculture; natural resources; and the environment. All references have abstracts and many are full texts. A large number of documents are in Spanish.

WWW Virtual Library: Latin American Studies (University of Texas at Austin. Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
Arrangement is by countries and topics. Selected subjects discuss the economy and development; education; government; humanities; social science; science; media and communications; and society and culture.


Near East

Center for Middle East Public Policy (CMEPP) (Rand Corporation)
Conducts research covering political, socioeconomic, and technological developments in the Middle East.

Middle East and Islamic Studies Internet Resources (Columbia University Libraries)
Organization is by region, countries, and subjects. Selected topics cover history; biography; economics; food; language and literature; minorities; music; religion; and political violence.

   

 

 

                                   

Featured Resources

List of Foreign Governments (Northwestern University)

Librarian

Susan Dow's picture
Susan Dow
Contact:
420A Lockwood Library
716-645-2819