Research Guides: Business Research: Industry and Market Reports

Industry and Market Reports

Business Source Complete
Included in this wide-ranging database of news, stories, periodical articles, and other business resources are market research reports and industry profiles. Focus your results by selecting “Industry Overview” in the Document Type selection box or “Industry Profile” in the Publication Type box.

Business Insights: Essentials
Contains listings for more than 400,000 U.S. and international companies including company profiles, industry overviews, industry statistics, market research reports, company rankings, histories, and chronologies, news stories, and full-text periodical articles.

IBISWorld
Provides access to over 700 US Industry Risk Rating Reports, over 700 Industry Profiles, over 8000 Publicly Traded US Companies as well as hundreds of Economic & Demographic Profiles.

IQS Directory
A "comprehensive listing of manufacturers and suppliers serving major segments of the OEM industrial manufacturing marketplace across the United States and Canada." (From website)

Bureau of Labor Statistics Industries at a Glance
"Snapshots" of industries compiled from BLS surveys.

Industry Data & Statistics

Economic Census
Every five years, the U.S. Census Bureau collects extensive statistics about businesses that are essential to understanding the American economy. This official count, better known as the Economic Census, serves as the foundation for the measurement of U.S. businesses and their economic impact. As part of the Census Bureau’s mission to provide timely information on the health of the U.S. economy, this “business” census serves as the most extensive collection of data related to business activity. Nearly 4 million businesses, large, medium and small, covering most industries and all geographic areas of the United States will receive surveys tailored to their primary business activity.

The latest data is from the 2017 Economic Census, released September 2019.
County Business Patterns (CBP)
County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. This data is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets. Government agencies use the data for administration and planning.

Featured Resources

IBISWorld

Provides access to over 700 US Industry Risk Rating Reports, over 700 Industry Profiles, over 8000 Publicly Traded US Companies as well as hundreds of Economic & Demographic Profiles.

Librarian

Carolyn Klotzbach-Russell

Email Me

Contact:

422 Lockwood Library, North Campus

(716) 645-9178