Skip to main content
University at Buffalo
Off Campus Access
Using the Libraries
Computers & Scanners
Reserve a Room
Video Recording Studios
Food & Beverages
Libraries & Collections
Architecture & Planning Library
Charles B. Sears Law Library
Health Sciences Library
Lockwood Memorial Library
Oscar A. Silverman Library
Science & Engineering
About the Libraries
Libraries News Center
Support the Libraries
Ask a Librarian
English & American Literature
English & American Literature: Top Resources
Oct 18, 2018 10:34 AM
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) as found on Literature Online.
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.
Provides curated collections of art images and associated data.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
Biographical essays on British & American authors from all eras & genres.
Dissertations & Theses
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text
Early English Books Online
22 million digital page images of every work printed in the English language as well as works printed in Great Britain and its dependencies from 1473-1700 in any language.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Historical archive that traces the development of law in the British Empire.
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive (ILN) gives students and researchers full-text access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003.
Full-text of the most important journals in the social sciences, humanities, general sciences as well as in the fields of mathematics, botany & ecology.
Individual collections of poetry, fiction, drama & much more.
Literature Resource Center
Literature-related research; useful biographical & critical content covering all time periods & genres.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
MLA International Bibliography
Literature, language, linguistics & folklore-related research.
Periodicals Index Online
all subject areas; use for coverage as far back as 1770 and up to 1995.
full-text journals in the humanities & social sciences.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Annotated entries for books, articles, book chapters, reviews, and more related to Shakespeare.
421 Lockwood Library, North Campus
Primary Sources >>