Last Updated: Oct 21, 2019 3:17 PM
Many will want to begin primary source research here. Over 5,600 repositories located in the United States, the United Kingdom, and the Republic of Ireland are listed and partially indexed in this resource which identifies over 220,000 collections. Some material in Austria is also covered. It brings together the once separately published ArchivesUSA and the cumulative index to the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the UK and Ireland. Combinable search options include collection name, repository name, repository location, subjects and more. Records repository contact information includes: phone and fax numbers, hours of service, materials solicited, and email and home page URLs.
Archive Finder incorporates all of the over 115,000 collection records (1959-2009) of the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections(NUCMC). The detailed name and subject indexing for the 72,000 collections in the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States and the name and subject indexing for the 47,000 collections in the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United Kingdom and Ireland are included. In addition, collection descriptions are added regularly by repositories and there are links to a growing number of online finding aids, now numbering over 6,000. Not comprehensive for any repository or national archive. For the latter, and more, see the resources listed below.
Type of information provided:
Among identified materials are: family papers, personal papers, maps, photographs, and various records.
Archive Finder makes electronically searchable a wealth of information previously generated in paper. The following are in addition to the obvious print counterpart constituents.
National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the U.S. Federal Records. Silverman Multimedia Center, MicFiche Z6620. U5N22 and Lockwood Library Book Collection Z6620.U5N22, covers 1988-1921.
National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the U.S. Library of Congress, Manuscript Division. Silverman Multimedia Center, MicFiche Z6620.U5N23, vs. 1-3.