• UpToDate
• PubMed Clinical Queries
• Nursing Reference Center
• Evidence Based Medicine Reviews
• National Guideline Clearinghouse
• Other Resources
• Theories

[This guide was originally created by Sharon Murphy, liaison to the UB School of Nursing]

Look for your topic in these resources:

• UpToDate - go to HUBNET and choose UpToDate from there. No access off-campus.
• PubMed Clinical Queries
• Nursing Reference Center
• Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews, which includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
• National Guideline Clearinghouse

UpToDate

An evidence-based, peer-reviewed information resource to answer clinical questions. Although intended primarily for physicians, advanced practice nurses and clinical specialists will find it useful. Experts provide topic reviews that include a synthesis if the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care. It contains full-text summaries with high quality references.

PubMed Clinical Queries

Free public resource for finding evidence-based journal articles to answer clinical practice questions. It is a filtered database and high-quality subset of MEDLINE. PubMed Clinical Queries simultaneously searches for 3 different categories:

• Systematic Reviews
• Clinical Studies
• Medical Genetics

It contains some free full-text. Accessing it through our HSL homepage conveniently links to a check of HSL’s holdings for additional full-text that may be available.

Nursing Reference Center

Clinically-oriented reference tool containing concise nursing guides (Evidence Based Care Sheets) and full-text overviews (Quick Lessons). Content is derived from a combination of essential, authoritative resources. Use it when you need distilled, reliable clinical nursing information fast. Search tabs help you locate information on Diseases and Conditions, Skills and Procedures, Drug Information, Patient Education, Practice Resources (guidelines, instruments, and legal cases), and Continuing Education.

Evidence Based Medicine Reviews

Two important databases reside here - the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCRT).

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews consists of about 4500 full-text systematic reviews of the effectiveness of health care treatments of specific clinical conditions. Use TOPIC REVIEW to view the full-text. The references are evaluated and explicitly critiqued.

The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials collects trials – one of the strongest forms of evidence. Cochrane collaborators pull from this repository when creating the systematic reviews. Use it to identify trials, then use the link to HSL’s holding to see if we have the article available.

National Guideline Clearinghouse

A free, public, comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. Continually updated, it collects objective, detailed information and provides full text.

Other Resources

• CDC Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities
• In MEDLINE, try searching the subject heading “emigrants and immigrants” OR refugees OR cross-cultural comparison crossed with your population group (Burma is Myanmar; Somalia; Indians, North American; Hispanic Americans)
• Refugee and Immigrant Health: A Handbook for Health Professionals 2004
• CDC General Refugee Health Guidelines

Theories

• Nursing Theories and Theorists - Nurseskabs updated July8, 2021 by Gil Wayne, BSN, RN
• Find other theories Gale Virtual Reference Library
• PsycINFO - use the thesaurus and search for theory (relevancy ranked) or your particular theory, for example family systems theory, attachment theory