Genealogy Research in University Archives: Using Archives
Material in Archives is unique, rare, and fragile. Take your time when handling materials.
- You may be asked to wear gloves or use supports when handling certain materials.
- Documents should remain flat on the table.
- Take out only one folder at a time from boxed collections. Maintain the original order of the folders as well as materials within the folder.
- Be sure to pay attention to documents as a whole; look at the front and back of items for identifying and descriptive information.
- Any questions? Ask! That's what we're here for.
New York University's short video on Handling Archival materials.
Hours, Location, Contact Info
420 Capen Hall [inside Silverman Library]
HOURS: Monday - Friday, 9:00 - 4:30
Occasionally, hours may change. Please confirm hours with University Archives before your visit.
**For information on planning your visit to University Archives and policies regarding use, duplication of collection material, etc. visit our policies page: http://library.buffalo.edu/specialcollections/about/policies/
What to bring
- Your laptop or phone; we have Wi-Fi and electrical outlets at every table
- Current photo identification (e.g. driver's license, campus ID, passport)
What not to bring
- Food or drink
- Pens, though you may use our pencils and paper for taking notes
- Scanners, tripods or video equipment
Other things to know
- While appointments are not required, it is recommended that you contact University Archives ahead of your visit to make the best use of your research time.
- Phones need to be silenced.
- You may use a camera or phone to take pictures of material. Fees do apply. No flash can be used and permission is required from the desk attendant.
- Staff will make photocopies of collection material if the item(s) can withstand the duplication process. Fees do apply. Entire collections and publications cannot be copied.