TH 199 - Performance & Pro Wrestling: Home
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles of sports & sports medicine journals. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- WWE SuperstarsBiographies for a large number of professional wrestlers associated with the WWE throughout its history and currently
- Wilson Biographies This link opens in a new windowsee Biography Reference Bank. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowFull-text entries from encyclopedias and reference works published by Gale Group More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- Gale Biography in ContextBiographical and news content on a variety of public figures. Includes some images and video recordings.
- The Internet Wrestling DatabaseDetailed information on wresters' stats, matches and a variety of other records
- Wrestlingdata.comStats and records for wrestlers on a global scale
Pharmacy Liaison Librarian
Books on Reserve for TH 199
- Performance and Professional Wrestling byCall Number: GV1195 .C487 2016ISBN: 9781138937222Publication Date: 2016-08-29Performance and Professional Wrestling is the first edited volume to consider professional wrestling explicitly from the vantage point of theatre and performance studies. Moving beyond simply noting its performative qualities or reading it via other performance genres, this collection of essays offers a complete critical reassessment of the popular sport. Topics such as the suspension of disbelief, simulation, silence and speech, physical culture, and the performance of pain within the squared circle are explored in relation to professional wrestling, with work by both scholars and practitioners grouped into seven short sections: Audience Circulation Lucha Gender Queerness Bodies Race A significant re-reading of wrestling as a performing art, Performance and Professional Wrestling makes essential reading for scholars and students intrigued by this uniquely theatrical sport.
- Steel Chair to the Head byISBN: 9780822386827Publication Date: 2004-12-23The antagonists--oiled, shaved, pierced, and tattooed; the glaring lights; the pounding music; the shouting crowd: professional wrestling is at once spectacle, sport, and business. Steel Chair to the Head provides a multifaceted look at the popular phenomenon of pro wrestling. The contributors combine critical rigor with a deep appreciation of wrestling as a unique cultural form, the latest in a long line of popular performance genres. They examine wrestling as it happens in the ring, is experienced in the stands, is portrayed on television, and is discussed in online chat rooms. In the process, they reveal wrestling as an expression of the contradictions and struggles that shape American culture. The essayists include scholars in anthropology, psychology, film studies, communication studies, and sociology, one of whom used to wrestle professionally. Classic studies of wrestling by Roland Barthes, Carlos Monsiváis, Sharon Mazer, and Henry Jenkins appear alongside original essays. Whether exploring how pro wrestling inflects race, masculinity, and ideas of reality and authenticity; how female fans express their enthusiasm for male wrestlers; or how lucha libre provides insights into Mexican social and political life, Steel Chair to the Head gives due respect to pro wrestling by treating it with the same thorough attention usually reserved for more conventional forms of cultural expression. Contributors. Roland Barthes, Douglas L. Battema, Susan Clerc, Laurence de Garis, Henry Jenkins III, Henry Jenkins IV, Heather Levi, Sharon Mazer, Carlos Monsiváis, Lucia Rahilly, Catherine Salmon, Nicholas Sammond, Phillip Serrat, Philip Sewell