Information about our collections can be found in four places:

• University Archives Collections page 

  • This page has:
    • A keyword searchable alphabetical listing of all collections in the University Archives.
    • A drop down menu of major topics and subject concentrations for University Archives collections.

• Finding Aids

  • Finding aids serve as detailed guides to collection contents and include descriptions beyond what is offered in the library catalog. A portion of our archival collections have online finding aids.

• Catalog

  • The Libraries Catalog contains brief records for archives collections (creator, title, dates, summary, and subjects). Some records contain links to finding aids (detailed collection descriptions) and/or online content.

• Digital Collections

  • A portion of our collections have been digitized and are available online.

Access to collections is open to researchers with these exceptions:

• Collections stored off-site or at the Libraries Annex require 3 business days’ notice to ensure retrieval. Contact University Archives at 716- 645-2916 or lib-archives@buffalo.edu to schedule an appointment.
• Unprocessed collections may be opened for research with permission and prior review by the University Archivist.
• Records that contain sensitive personal information are restricted in order to protect individual privacy. Certain administrative records are restricted in accordance with University policy. Collections with restricted information are noted as such.