Workshop: Exploring Maps Online: Discovering and Creating Maps Using Library Resources: Workshop Guide
Sources & Resources from Workshop
USGS Topoview. Current and historic topographic maps for the United States.
Sanborn Maps (Library of Congress). Use this digitized collection for access to online Sanborn maps when you no longer have UB access.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection. Amazing digital collection of 10,000+ rare 17th-19th century North and South America maps and other cartographic materials, with additional historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa.
Online Guide to U.S. Map Collections. Use this interactive map to discover collections at map libraries across the United States.
Osher Map Library and Smith Center for Cartographic Education. University of Southern Maine, Portland. Collection includes rare and unique maps dating back to the 15th century.
Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress. Includes more than 55,000 digitized historical world and United States maps.
Census Geography & Mapping
United State Census Bureau. Find information on all censuses and surveys, as well as topical publications and map visualizations.
Census Bureau Data. Explore Census Data tables, maps and visualizations in this portal.
TIGERweb. A web-based system that allows users to visualize Census TIGER (Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing database) data.
Census Geocoder. Allows users to match addresses to geographic locations and entities containing those addresses.
Census QuickFacts. Provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
Historic Census Maps (prior to 2000)
Statistical Atlases. Available online from 1870 - 1920 covering United States demographics, politics, religion, settlement, trade and more.
Census Atlas of the United States. The first comprehensive atlas of population and housing produced by the Census Bureau since the 1920s. The Census Atlas contains almost 800 maps on topics ranging from language and ancestry characteristics to housing patterns and the geographic distribution of the population.
Historic Census Maps. A collection of useful maps, including a map of the population of the first census in 1790.
Historical census data is also available via the Social Explorer database.
Additional Census Map Resources
Census Emergency Management. Portal for timely local data for emergency planning and recovery.
OnTheMap for Emergency Management. Interactive map and public data tool for accessing real-time statistics for areas being affected by natural disasters.
A listing of all interactive maps from the Census Bureau.
Social Explorer Guide. Best Practices and support for using Social Explorer.
Buffalo and Western New York in Maps
by Kimberly Plassche Last Updated Jun 8, 2021 3532 views this year
Aerial Photographs of Buffalo and WNY
by Kimberly Plassche Last Updated Aug 11, 2021 4348 views this year
by Kimberly Plassche Last Updated Jul 1, 2021 849 views this year
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
by Kimberly Plassche Last Updated Sep 14, 2021 1545 views this year
by Carolyn Klotzbach-Russell Last Updated Sep 3, 2021 1399 views this year