Identify books and other materials.
Then locate them at UB, or submit Delivery+ request to obtain from another location.
Ask a librarian for help!

Here is a selective list of sites useful for locating  international conventions (treaties) and laws of other countries.

Treaty Resources 

• Electronic Information System for International Law (EISIL – ASIL)
• U. Minnesota Human Rights Library - Treaties
• Audiovisual Library of the United Nations (research portal)
  Click on "Research Library," then "Treaties". Includes links to Collections maintained by the United Nations, other international organizations, states, and other entities.
• United Nations Treaty Collection
  Full text of treaties; status of treaties deposited with UN Secretary-General.
• World Treaty Library (HeinOnline)
  Works from Rohn, Dumont, Wiktor, and Martens create a rich collection of world treaties, spanning from 1648 to present. Includes related treaty publications, scholarly articles, and a bibliography.
• African Union OAU/AU Treaties, Conventions, Protocols & Charters
• EUR-Lex Treaties currently in force
• Council of Europe treaties
• OAS Treaties
   

Laws 

• World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII)
• Click on SUBJECTS; choose “Family Health” or “Human reproduction and population policies”; click on country name.  Examine other subjects as well.
• Foreign and International Law Sources- Research Guides (Harvard)

Constitutions

• The Avalon project at Yale Law School : documents in law, history and diplomacy
       Search by category or keyword. See The American Constitution -- A Documentary Record
• World Constitutions Illustrated (HeinOnline) (UB Only)
• Constitute  (Comparative Constitutions Project) -- Exploring World's Constitutions

Decisions - Paper format

International Law Reports, 1919+ KZ 199 I58

Decisions - Online

Audiovisual Library of International Law (research portal)
Click on "Research Library," then "Jurisprudence" for links to Court websites.
Includes "Jurisprudence of International Courts, Tribunals, quasi-judicial entities and other mechanisms for the peaceful settlement of disputes "

Human Rights Decisions - Paper format

Collection of Decisions of the European Commission of Human Rights (Recueil de Decisions de la Commission europeenne des droits de l'homme), 1960-1974 KJC5135.A5 E869

Decisions and reports / Council of Europe / European Commission of Human Rights
KJC5135 .A5 E87
(Decisions et rapports / Conseil de l'Europe / Commission europeenne des droits de l'homme) 1975+

Commonwealth Human Rights Law Digest K 3239.23 C66 (Ref)

Publications of the European Court of Human Rights (Publications de la Cour europeenne des droits de l'homme)

• Series A. Judgments and decisions, 1961+ KJC 5132 A52 E88
• Series B. Pleadings, oral arguments, and documents, 1962+ KJC5132.A52 E882

University of Nottingham, UK, International Human Rights Reports, 1994+ K 3239.23 I58 (Ref)

International Law Reports, 1919+ KZ 199 I58

Human Rights Decisions - Online

• European Court of Human Rights (Strasbourg)
• HUDOC  Database (European Court of Human Rights)
  "The HUDOC database provides access to the case-law of the Court (Grand Chamber, Chamber and Committee judgments, decisions, communicated cases, advisory opinions and legal summaries from the Case-Law Information Note), the European Commission of Human Rights (decisions and reports) and the Committee of Ministers (resolutions). "1998-
  • HUDOC Manual

UNITED NATIONS

• United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights

• Human Rights Bodies
• Universal Periodic Review
  (a process involving a review of the human rights records of all 192 UN Member States once every four years.)
• Global Issues on the UN Agenda
• Universal Human Rights Index
• UN Women: the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women
• WomenWatch-WomenWatch is the central gateway to information and resources on the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women throughout the United Nations system
• Directory of UN Resources on Gender and Women's Issues (WomenWatch)
• Audiovisual Library of the International Law- A portal with many useful research links
• Bayefsky.com- Information on the UN human rights treaty system&its monitoring treaty bodies. Includes reports & documents from human rights treaty monitoring bodies.

Europe

• European Commission - Gender Equality
• European Union by Topic
• European Court of Human Rights (Strasbourg)
• Country Profiles- Factsheets on on the Court’s case-law and pending cases ORGANIZED BY COUNTRY (compiled by The Press Service)
• Theme FactSheets - on the Court’s case-law and pending cases (compiled by The Press Service)
• Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (US Helsinki Commission)
• Gender Equality

The Americas

• Organization of American States
• Inter-American Commission of Human Rights
• Inter-American Commission of Women

Africa

• African Union

OTHER IGO & NGO LINKS

• Human Rights Watch- Click on menu icon at top of page for TOPICS.
• Human Rights NGO Links (U. Minn. Human Rights Library) - See: “SPECIFIC TOPICS OF INTEREST”
• REFWORLD
• LABORDOC 1965+- Provides references to reports, studies and journal articles on labor relations, employment, working conditions, and related subjects. Worldwide coverage.
• Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine (Google)
• Directory of Development Organizations (OECD) - This operation was implemented in partnership with European governmental and non-governmental organizations. It comprises a contact list of partner organizations, totaling over 8,000 entries.
• Duke University NGO Research Guide
• International Documents Collection (Northwestern University)
• List of IGOs
• NGO Global Network (click on “LINKS”)
• List of Non-governmental organizations associated with the United Nations
• ‍The NGO Cafe
  • NGO Bungee Jumps
  • Links to various NGO indices and resources on the internet.
  • ​NGO Databases and Directories
• Human Rights Education Associates - Research Centre an "international NGO that supports human rights learning; the training of activists and professionals; the development of educational materials and programming; and community-building through online technologies."
• Eldis ( Institute of Development Studies, Sussex)
• Free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. Includes over 40,000 summaries and links to full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers. See Site Map.
• Business and Human Rights Resource Centre
• CIVICUS Monitor  "...provides close to real-time data on the state of civil society and civic freedoms in 196 countries."

Search these legal periodical indexes to identify relevant articles. Be creative with your search terms. Try very general as well as specific searches.

Online Legal Periodical Indexes:

• LegalTrac (also Westlaw* and Lexis*, but known as Legal Resource Index (LRI))(1980 - present)

Online Indexes with Quickest CURRENT coverage

• Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) on Westlaw* only (most recent 8 weeks)
• SSRN (Social Science Research Network)(2000s-present) Working papers, accepted papers.

Online Indexes with Foreign & International Coverage

• Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (via HeinOnline)(1985 - present) Gives citations; links to some full text.
• Legal Journals Index (LJI) on Westlaw* only (1986-present) (UK & Europe). Gives citations/abstracts; links to some full text.
• Public International Law (1996 - present) [Internet database; free to all] (Click on relevant VR number--e.g.,for immigration see VR 15.3.2, for CEDAW see VR 14.5.3; or, conduct a SEARCH). Gives citations; links to some full text.
• Szladits' Bibliography on Foreign and Comparative Law:Books and Articles in English; Covers 1953-1990
  Included in HeinOnline collection, The Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law Publications

*Westlaw/Lexis access is restricted to law students only

Go to the “Research Guides” page for UB Libraries.

Select databases from a variety of subjects such as Law & Legal Studies, Global Gender Studies, Health Sciences, and others. These databases will lead you to journal articles and other materials. Here are just a few:

Global Gender Studies
Gender Watch
Academic Search Complete

History--World
Historical Abstracts
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Dissertations and Theses

Political Science
International Political Science Abstracts
PAIS International Online
JStor
CountryWatch
Web of Science (includes  Social Sciences Citation Index)

Medline
CINAHL

 To locate journals at UB (once you have a citation to an article):

Use Google Translation Tools to translate (transliterate, that is...) any articles in other languages.

Specialized Search Engines

• Human Rights Search Engine (U. Minn. & Others)

General Search Engines

• Google
• Advanced Google Search
• Yahoo
• Bing
• Others

Blog Search Engines

General

• ACI Scholarly Blog Index
• Twitter Advanced Search (microblog site)

Legal

• BlawgSearch
• LexMonitor (LexBlog Network)
• Global Voices Global Voices is an international community of bloggers who report on blogs and citizen media from around the world.