Primary Sources

STATUTORY

Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952 (McCarran-Walter Act), P.L. No. 82-414, June 27, 1952, c.477, 66 Stat. 163, Title 8 U.S.C. 1101 et. seq. (As Amended) 

Significant amendments:

• Immigration Reform and Control Act, P.L. 99-603, Nov. 6, 1986, 100 Stat. 3359
• Immigration Marriage Fraud Amendments, P.L. 99-639, 100 Stat. 3537, Nov. 10, 1986 
• Immigration Act of 1990, P.L. 101-649, Nov. 29, 1990, 104 Stat. 4978. 
• Violent Crime Control & Law Enforcement Act of 1994, P.L. 103-322, Title IV, Subtitle G; Title XIII, 108 Stat. 1796, Sept. 13, 1994 
• Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996, P.L. 104-132, Title IV, 110 Stat. 1214, April 24, 1996 
• Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act of 1996, P.L. 104-208, Div. C, 1996 U.S.C.C.A.N. 110 Stat. 3009 [576], Sept. 30, 1996 
• USA PATRIOT Act (Uniting and Strengthening America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism Act), P.L. No. 107-56, 115 Stat.272, Oct. 26, 2001 
• Enhanced Border Security and Visa Entry Reform Act, P.L. No. 107-173, 116 Stat. 543, May 14, 2002 
• Homeland Security Act of 2002, P.L. No. 107-296, 116 Stat. 2135, Nov. 25, 2002 

Federal Immigration Laws, and Regulations KF 4805.99 U54 (Most recent on Reserve)
The Whole Act - INA as amended KF 4806.54 .A19 P38 

Administrative

Regulations

• Title 8, Aliens and Nationality, C.F.R. KF 70 .A34 (Fed. Core); Additional regulations will be found in the C.F.R. Index KF70 .A34 index (Fed Core)
• Federal Immigration Laws and Regulations KF 4805.99 U54 (Most recent on Reserve)

Decisions

• Administrative Decisions Under Immigration and Nationality Laws KF 4812 A2 U55
• Hein's Cumulative Index to Interim Precedent Decisions of the Board of Immigration Appeals KF 4812.7 H45
• OCAHO Decisions 1991+ KF 4812 A2 U54a
• OCAHO Decisions Online 1988+ 
• Administrative Decisions Under Employer Sanctions, Unfair Immigration-Related Employment Practices & Civil Penalty Document Fraud Laws of the U.S. 1988+ KF 4812 .A2 U54b
• INS General Counsel Opinions (99-1 to 99-6) KF 4819 I75 (Koren AV)

Practitioner's Handbooks

General

• ABA, The Criminal Lawyer’s Guide to Immigration Law, 2d ed. KF 4819 M39 2006
• AILA, Immigration Litigation Toolbox, 2d ed. KF 4816 .A35 2005 (Also at Koren AV)
• AILA, Immigration Practice Under NAFTA & Other Free Trade Agreements, 3rd ed. KF 4819.3 I484 2006
• AILA, Litigating Immigration Cases in Federal Court, 2nd ed. KF 8925 E4 P38 2009
• AILA, Visa Processing Guide & Consular Posts Handbook KF 4827 V57 (Most recent in Ref)
• Baldini-Potermin, Immigration Trial Handbook (2019) (Available on Westlaw*)
• Chin, Immigration and the Constitution KF 4819 A2 I4265 2001
• Divine, Immigration Practice KF 4819 D58 2005 (Also at Koren AV)
• DOJ, Immigration Court Practice Manual
• DOJ, BIA (Board of Immigration Appeals) Practice Manual, Part III  EOIR Policy Manual Part III
• Fragomen & Bell, Immigration Employment Compliance KF 4829 Z9 I43 (Also on Westlaw*)
• Fragomen & Del Ray, Immigration Procedures Handbook KF 4819 I484 (Also 2020-2021 ed. on Westlaw*)
• Hutchins, Immigration Pleading and Practice Manual, 2021 ed. (Available on Westlaw*)
• Kurzban, Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook KF 4819.3 K87 (2006, 10th ed. on Reserve) [Current ed. on AILALink]
• MACLE, Immigration Practice Manual (Available on Westlaw*)
• Vargus, Representing Noncitizen Criminal Defendants in New York State KFN 6115 V37 2006 (NY Alcove)

Asylum

• Fitzpatrick, Human Rights Protection for Refugees, Asylum-Seekers, and Internally Displaced Persons: a Guide to International Mechanisms and Procedures (2002) K3230.R45 H865 2002

• Germain, AILA's Asylum Primer: A Practical Guide to U.S. Asylum Law and Procedure, 4th ed. (2005) KF 4836 Z9 G47 2005 (Also Koren AV)

• Hathaway, The Michigan Guidelines on the International Protection of Refugees, Law General Collection, KZ6530 .M53 2019

• ILRC, Winning Asylum Cases KF 4836 S55 1998

• Miller & Holmes, Immigration Judges and U.S. Asylum Policy. (2015) Law General Collection KF4819 .M55 2015

• Musalo, Refugee Law & Policy: Cases & Materials, 2d ed., Law General Collection KF 4836 A7 M87 2002
• NIJC, NIJC Procedural Manual for Asylum Representation (2021) .PDF
• UNHCR, Collection of International and Legal Texts Concerning Refugees... 4 vol., Law General Collection  K 3230 A265 2007
• UNHCR, Handbook on Procedures and Criteria for Determining Refugee Status 1998, Law General Collection K3230 .R45 H36 1988
• UNHCR, Handbook on Procedures and Criteria for Determining Refugee Status and Guidelines on International Protection, 1999 ed.,
  • Handbook on Procedures and Criteria for Determining Refugee Status, 1992 ed., .pdf
  • Handbook on Procedures and Criteria for Determining Refugee Status, 1998, Law General Collection K3230 .R45 H36 1988
• Wallace, Asylum Practice and Procedure: Country-by-Country Handbook, Law General Collection, K 3230 R45 A894 1999

Detention

• ABA, ABA Civil Immigration Detention Standards (2014) .PDF
  • ABA Civil Immigration Detention Standards (2012) .PDF
• ABA, The INS Detention Standards Implementation Initiative (2001) Law General Collection KF 4821 I57 2001
• ABA, A Legal Guide for INS Detainees: How to Complain Effectively (2002) Law General Collection KF4819.3 .L44 2002
• ABA, A Legal Guide for INS Detainees: Actions Brought Against INS or Other Law Enforcement Officials for Personal Injury or Property Damage or Loss, Law General Collection KF 4819.3 L438 2002
• ABA, A Legal Guide for INS Detainees: Petitioning for Release from Indefinite Detention, Law General Collection KF 4819.3 L43 2002
• ABA, Representing Detained Immigration respondents of Diminished Capacity: Ethical Challenges and Best Practices (2015) .PDF
• ABA, Standards for the Custody, Placement and Care; Legal Representation; and Adjudication of Unaccompanied Alien Children in the United States (2018) .PDF
• Welch, Detained: Immigration Laws & The Expanding INS Jail Complex (2002), Law General Collection JV 6483 W455

*Westlaw/Lexis access is restricted to law students only

Treatises

• Dizon & Dadhania, Immigration Law Service, 2d (Available on Westlaw*)
• Fragomen, Immigration Law and Business KF 4819 F7 1983; Also on Westlaw*
• Gordon, Mailman, Yale-Loehr & Wada, Immigration Law and Procedure, Law General Collection  v.94 (2006) - v. 105 (2017) K3  A433; Lexis* (updated quarterly)
• Hornik (NLG), Immigration Law and Defense, Law General Collection (2012- Sp. 2016)  KF 8925 E4 I4572; Also on Westlaw* (semiannual updates)
• Kesselbrenner & Rosenberg (NLG), Immigration Law and Crimes, updated bi-annually (Available on Westlaw*)
• Legomsky & Thronson, Immigration and Refugee Law and Policy (7ed, 2019) check for available services
  • Legomsky & Rodriguez, Immigration and Refugee Law and Policy (6ed, 2015) Law Library Circulation Desk KF4819 .L43 2015

Casebooks 

• Alienikoff, Martin et. al., Immigration and Citizenship: Process and Policy (9ed., 2021) Law Library Circulation Desk KF4819 A75 2021
  • Alienikoff, Martin et. al., Immigration and Citizenship: Process and Policy (8ed., 2016) Law Library Circulation Desk KF4819 A75 2016
• Alienikoff, Martin et.al., Immigration and Nationality Law of the United States: Selected Statutes, Regulations and Forms (2020) Law Library Circulation Desk KF4805.99 U55 2020
  • Alienikoff, Martin et.al., Immigration and Nationality Law of the United States: Selected Statutes, Regulations and Forms (2018) Law Library Circulation Desk KF4805.99 U55 2018
• Seipp & Baldini-Potermin, Asylum Case Law Sourcebook (2021) (Available on Westlaw*)

*Westlaw and Lexis access is restricted to law students only

Legislative History

CIS, Congressional Information Service KF 49 C623 (Koren AV); Lexis Nexis Congressional
Franklin, Legislative History of Naturalization in the United States KF 1814 F84 1969

Hutchinson, Legislative History of American Immigration Policy, 1798 - 1965 KF 4805.8 1981

IHS, Legislative Histories - Microfiche Program (Koren AV)

• P.L. 82-414 Immigration and Nationality Act 
• P.L. 85-316 Immigration Act of 1957 
• P.L. 89-236 Immigration and Nationality Amendments of 1965 

Hein, Immigration and Nationality Acts: Legislative Histories and Related Documents, [1952-1997]

• Trelles & Bailey 1952-76 KF 4805.8 1979 
• Bailey 1977-86 KF 4805.8 1979a
• Kavass & Reams Immigration Act of 1990 KF 4805.8 1979a Ser. 2

Trelles & Bailey, Immigration and Nationality Acts. Legislative Histories and Related Documents 1950-1978

Bailey, Immigration and Nationality Acts. Legislative Histories and Related Documents 1977-1986 First Series

Montweiler, The Immigration Reform Law of 1986: Analysis, Text, and Legislative History KF 4806.56 A16 M66 1987

AILA, Selected Legislative History of the Immigration Act of 1990 KF 4806.52 A15 1991
Kavass & Reams, Immigration act of 1990: A Legislative History of Pub. L. No. 101-649

AILA, Selected Legislative History of the Illegal Immigration Reform & Immigrant Responsibility Act of 1996 KF 4806.57 A15 1997

Reams & Nelson, “Immigration Reform and the Simpson-Rodino Act: A Legislative history of the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986 (P. L. 99-603) with Related Documents and Secondary Sources”, 22 Int’l. J.L. Information 12 (1994) K 9 N8485

Search these legal periodical indexes to identify relevant articles. Be creative with your search terms. Try very general as well as specific searches.

Online Legal Periodical Indexes

• Index to Legal Periodicals and Books; also Westlaw* and Lexis* (journals 1981-present; books 2000 to present)
• Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Retrospective (1918-1981
• LegalTrac (also Westlaw* and Lexis*, but known as Legal Resource Index (LRI))(1980 - present)

Online Indexes with Quickest CURRENT coverage

• Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) on Westlaw* only (most recent 8 weeks)
• SSRN (Social Science Research Network)(2000s-present) Working papers, accepted papers.

Indexes in paper format

• Index to Legal Periodical Literature K 9 N319 (ref)(1888-1939)
• Index to Legal Periodicals K9 N32 (Ref) (1926-1994)
• Index to Legal Periodicals & Books K9 N32 (Ref) (1994-present)
• Annual Legal Bibliography K 38 H365 (Ref) (1960-1981)
• Subject Compilations of State Laws KF 240 S795(Ref) (1960 - present) Identify law review articles and books that cite to state statutes on specific topics.

Online Indexes with Foreign & International Coverage

• Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (1985 - present)
• Legal Journals Index (LJI) on Westlaw* only (1986-present) (UK & Europe)
• Public International Law (1996 - present) [Internet database; free to all] (for immigration see VR 15.3.2)

Indexes in paper format with Foreign & International Coverage

• Public International Law JZ 5 P83 (Ref) (1975-2000, 2006-present)
• Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals K33 I38 (Ref) (1960-present)
• Szladits' Bibliography on Foreign and Comparative Law K38 B536 (Ref) (1984-1998)

You can also find relevant articles and other scholarly information by searching other online databases available at UB.

*Westlaw/Lexis access is restricted to law students only

Research Aids

• Chanin, Specialized Legal Research ("Immigration Law") KF 240 S69 1987 (Ref Desk)
• Cordasco, Dictionary of American Immigration History JV 6450 D53 1990 (Ref)
• Kurzban, Immigration Law Sourcebook (10ed, 2006) Law Library Circulation Desk KF4819.3 K87 2006
•  Mason, “Sources of International Refugee law: A Bibliography”, 8 Int. J.Ref. L. 597 (1996)  K9 N8489 (Also on HeinOnline)

Digests

Patel, Patel's Immigration Law Digest: Digest of Opinions in Immigration and Nationality Cases:

• Decisions since 1981 KF 4814 P37 1985 
• Decisions 1940 to 1981 KF 4814 P37 1982

​Citators

Patel's Citations KF 4812.5 P38 (Most current on Reserve);

Shepard's Citations (Lexis*)
includes:

• Immigration & Naturalization Interim Decisions (I. & N. Dec. Interim)
• Immigration and Nationality Decisions ( I. & N. Dec.)
• Immigration Case Reporter ( Immigr. Cas. Rep. )
• Immigration Law and Procedure Reporter (Immigr. Law & Proc. Rep. )
• Board of Immigration Appeals LEXIS cite ( BIA LEXIS )
• Immigration and naturalization decisions as published in major reports of the U.S. Supreme Court and lower federal courts
• Immigration and Nationality law provisions of U.S. Code and CFR
• Georgetown Immigration Law Journal ( Geo. Immigr. L.J.)

*Westlaw/Lexis access is restricted to law students only

• Bender’s Immigration Bulletin KF 4802 B46 (also Lexis* - law students only)
• Georgetown Immigration Law Journal K 7 E64 (also HeinOnline, LEXIS*, Westlaw*)
• Immigration Briefings KF 4802 I463 (Most recent on Reserve)
• Immigration and nationality law review from 1986 to present in HeinOnline
• An internal publication about immigration litigation matters for attorneys within the Departments of Justice and Homeland Security. Includes full text of of selected Immigration Litigation Bulletins released pursuant to a FOIA request (2003-present).
• In Defense of the Alien KF 4800 A75 I52
• International Journal of Refugee Law K9 N8489 (also HeinOnline)
• Interpreter Releases KF 4802 I57 (Most current on Reserve) includes: Katzman, “UNHCR’s Asylum-Related Guidelines”, 81 Interpreter Release 545 (April 26, 2004)
• Refugee Reports HV 640.4 U54 R42

Search UB's Online Catalog for books, e-books and other materials.

Try these and other subject searches in the University at Buffalo Libraries Catalog:

• Admission of nonimmigrants
• Citizenship
• Deportation
• Emigration and Immigration Law
• Freedom of Movement
• Illegal Aliens
• Refugees, political-- legal status, laws, etc.
• Repatriation

IRIS: Immigration Research Information Service

A CD-ROM containing primary and secondary sources of immigration law. Last updated April 2004.
IRIS: Immigration Research Information Service KF 4819 I75 (Koren AV)

ANALYSIS

Immigration Law Service (also Westlaw*)
Full-text treatise

INS Basic Law Manual (also KF 48 21 U55 1991 )
INS publication on asylum law.

Interpreter Release (also KF 4802 I57 -Most recent on Reserve)
1987+; excludes appendices

Immigration Briefings ( also KF 4802 I463 )
1988+; excludes appendices

Martin's Asylum Case Law Sourcebook (also KF 4836 A7 M37 -Most recent in Ref; Westlaw*)
Summaries of every federal court asylum decision since 1980

UNHCR Handbook on Procedures and Criteria for Determining Refugee Status (alsoK 3230 R45 H36 1988 -Ref)

PRIMARY SOURCES

International

• U.N. Documents Relating to Refugees

Judicial

• Federal Court Decisions - Full text of relevant decisions
• BIA Decisions Precedent decisions from 1940 (also KF 4812 A2 U55 ; also Online http://www.justice.gov/eoir/vll/intdec/lib_indecitnet.html
• BALCA Decisions (Board of Alien Labor Certification Appeals)
• OCAHO Decisions (Office of the Chief Administrative Hearing Officer)

Statutory

• INA amended through P.L. 108-76
• 8 USCA and 18 USCA amended through P.O. 108-76
• Illegal Immigration Reform & Immigrant Responsibility Act of 1996 P.L. 104-208, Div. CM

Administrative

• CFR - All or parts of Titles 8, 20, 22, 28, 29, and 42 amended through 8/07/2003
• Federal Register from July, 1990+
• INS Operating Instructions, Gordon & Mailman Vol. 9 (also KF 4819 G6 )
• Foreign Affairs Manual, Gordon & Mailman Vol. 10,11 (also KF 4819 G6 )
• State Department analysis of its immigration and citizenship regulations;all of Vol. 9 & pt. of Vol. 7
• INS General Counsel Opinions No. 91-1 to 99-6

LABOR CERTIFICATION

BALCA Deskbook, Gordon & Mailman Vol. 8 (also KF 4819 G6 )
Summaries of decisions by Labor Department's Board of Alien Labor Certification Appeals

Dictionary of Occupational Titles (also HB 2581 U55 1991 Supp. 1993 -Lockwood Ref; Westlaw* and Lexis*
Labor Department publication of job descriptions and duties

Occupational Outlook Handbook (also HD 8051 A5 -Lockwood Reference; Lexis*;)

DOL Technical Assistance Guide (also LEXIS* - IMMTAG TAG)