University Archives Student Research Guide: LGBTQ+ History
LGBTQ+ History in WNY - An Introduction
The University at Buffalo has a tradition of LGBTQ+ activism. The first LGB club on campus was founded in the 1970s. Other organizations in Western New York, including the Mattachine Society, played a key role in the movement for LGBTQ+ rights in the United States. University Archives holds several collections that contain materials on the LGBTQ+ community, organizations, and events in university and WNY history.
Images
October is National Gay and Lesbian History Month
LGB1996_1
Gayla '96
LGB_1996_5
Gay Peoples Alliance Yearbook Photo
LGB1981_1
Joan Nestle Speaking Engagement Flier, November 16-17, 1990
RG34-5-1012_6_15_007
Gay Liberation Front Open House
LGB1980_2
LIB-UA017
Recommended Collections
The following are collections in the University Archives related to LGBTQ+ history at UB and in WNY. You can use any of these resources to identify collections and primary sources of interest. You can also conduct your own keyword search via our Finding Aids Database. If you see the description of an item you would like to view, contact lib-archives@buffalo.edu.
- MS-0107: Niagara Frontier Chapter, American Civil Liberties Union, Records
- 9/5/00-29: University Publications
- 34/5/1012: Elizabeth Lapovsky Kennedy [papers, 1961-1993
- 34/9/1092: Tolstoy College records, 1969-1983
Online Resources
Use the following resources to supplement your primary source research.
- LGBT at UB [Digital Collections]
- Digitized materials from various University Archives collections on LGBTQ+ topics
- Madeline Davis Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Archives of Western New York [Buffalo State] -
- Collects and preserves materials related to the LGBTQ+ communities of Western New York and Southern Ontario
- Includes records of over 50 organizations and many key individuals
- Some materials from the collection have been digitized and are available on Buffalo State University's Digital Commons
- Buffalo-Niagara LGBTQ History Project
- Researches and shares WNY LGBTQ+ history through events including walking tours, exhibits, concerts, and social gatherings
- 5th Freedom
- A publication of the Mattachine Society of the Niagara Frontier, covering the years 1970-1983
- Full-text searchable on NYS Historic Newspapers
- Also available through the Madeline Davis LGBTQ Archive of WNY at Buffalo State
- Finding Aids database
- Navigate to the link to conduct a search for a subject or topic to reveal relevant collections in the University Archives
- If you see the description of an item you would like to view, contact lib-archives@buffalo.edu