University Archives Student Research Guide: Student Publications

Navigating the University Archives for students in HIS301

Last Updated: Jan 17, 2025 2:01 PM

Student Publications - An Introduction

University Archives holds a variety of student-led publications from as early as the late 19^th century and through the beginning of the 21^st. Many of these publications are available online, through either UB Digital Collections or New York State Historic Newspapers. Others are available in print in the University Archives.

Images

The Spectrum, Friday, November 18, 1955

The Bison Magazine, April 1929

The People's Voice, vol. 1, no. 1, January 1978

Gay Images, vol. 1, no. 1, 1978

Iris Yearbook, 1901

Student Newspapers

The following are student newspapers, past and present, published at UB.

The Spectrum (1950-)
- UB's student newspaper
- Began publication in 1950, when its two predecessors merged (see below)
- Available through UB Digital Collections and NYS Historic Newspapers
- Issues on NYS Historic Newspapers are available under three different titles:
  - The Official Student Publication of the University of Buffalo (1950)
  - The Spectrum (1950-1952)
  - The U of B Spectrum (1952-1955)
  - The Spectrum (1955-2009)
  - Recent (post-2009) issues can be found online
The Bee (1921-1950)
- One of The Spectrum's two predecessors, a general student newspaper
- Available on NYS Historic Newspapers (1921-1950)
The Argus (1947-1950)
- One of The Spectrum's two predecessors
- Intended as more socially-conscious than The Bee
- Available on NYS Historic Newspapers (1947-1950)

Other Student Publications

The following are some of the student publications held in the University Archives. For information on additional publications and searching archival collections, please see the Newspapers research guide.

Yearbooks

Iris (1898-1932) - Not published between 1910-1919. Available via UB Digital Collections.
Buffalonian (1934-2001) - Available via UB Digital Collections
Medentian (1935-1975) - Yearbook for the Schools of Medicine and Dentistry. Physical copies held in University Archives.

Other Publications

Gay Images (1978) - Published by the Gay Liberation Front at UB. Available via UB Digital Collections.
Black Student Union Periodicals (1967-) - Some available via UB Digital Collections. Physical copies held in University Archives.
Bison (1920-1941) - Humorous student magazine. Physical copies held in University Archives.