Census Resources: Buffalo / Erie County
Buffalo / Erie County
Buffalo, New York
Census tracts are small areas of approximately 4,000 people comparable to neighborhoods. Current tract maps for New York state can be found here. Buffalo census tract maps are located as follows:
- Buffalo Census Tract Tables, 1930
Lockwood General Collection | HA730 .B8 B8
- Buffalo, NY Census Tracts, 1940
Lockwood General Collection HA 201 1940 B1 Population and Housing (Map is in front of the book)
An online map
- Buffalo, NY Census Tracts, 1950
(Online tract maps are on pages 46-47 (pdf pages 72-73)
Lockwood General Collection HA 201 1950 B1 Population & Housing (Maps are in the back of the book)
- Buffalo, NY Census Tracts, 1960 (pdf pages 345-470)
(Does not include map)
Lockwood General Collection HA 201 1960 B2 Buffalo Census Tract (Maps are in the back of the book)
Doc US C3.16: 960/PHC(1)/21 (Maps are in back of the book)
- Buffalo, NY Census Tracts, 1970
(1970 maps are online)
Lockwood General Collection Census Tracts (Maps are in back of the book)
Doc US C3.223/11:970/35 (Maps are in front of the book)
- Buffalo, NY Census Tracts, 1980
(Online tract map is on page 349)
Lockwood General Collection HA 201 1980 B1 (Maps are in back pocket)
Doc US C3.223/11:980/106 (Maps are at Doc US C3.223/11:980/106 maps)
- Buffalo-Niagara Falls NY Census Tracts, 1990
Lockwood General Collection HA 201 1990 B1 Census Tracts
Erie/Niagara County
Federal Population Census Rolls (Microform Collection) reproduce the names and details of individuals as recorded at the time of the census.
The Federal Population Census Rolls are available in the Silverman Multimedia Center at call number MicFilm F127 .E6S2
The Libraries have the following rolls for Erie County
- 1820 (reel 114, as part of Niagara County)
- 1830 (reel 114)
- 1840 (reel 90)
- 1850 (reels 189-192)
- 1860 (reels 166-167)
- 1870 (reels 133-135)
- 1880 (reels 826-832)
- 1900 (reels 1024-1034, 1210)
- 1910 (reels 35, 938-948)
- 1920 (reels 1099-1111)
The rolls are filed by census year by roll number. Knowing the address of the household for which you are looking can be helpful. Refer to Lockwood's collection of city directories for address information.
State Census Rolls (Microform Collection)
Lockwood MicFilm F 127 .E6 B8
The State Census Rolls for the Erie County state population censuses conducted in 1855, 1865, 1875, 1892, 1905, 1915, and 1925 are owned by UB. Included are schedules for towns in Erie County plus the city of Buffalo by wards. Specific information recorded varies year to year. Generally the following types of data can be found: names of household residents, age, sex, race and relationship to the head of the household, place of birth, marital status. The reels are arranged in chronological order. For each census year, the schedule for Buffalo by ward comes first followed by the schedules for the towns alphabetically by name. To access s ee the catalog record for the title "Buffalo & Erie County Buffalo & towns census records" for indication of which reel to use. There are no aids in the Libraries that directly assist in locating a particular household on the reels. The Special Collection section of the main branch of the Buffalo and Erie County Public Library has a collection of ward maps. Knowing the address of the household for which you are looking can be helpful.
- Please note: Library owns only Erie County. For other counties see the NYS Library page.
Erie and Niagara counties, New York: an Index to the 1990 Census of Population and housing block maps, compiled by Jane Weintrop. 1993
Lockwood General Collection G3803.E6E25 1990 .W44
Erie and Niagara Counties, New York : An Index to Census 2000 Block Maps compiled by Giann A. Palachuvattil, student, School of Library and Information Studies, University at Buffalo. 2002
Lockwood General Collection G3803.E6E25 2000 .P34
An index to the 2000 Erie and Niagara County block maps. Organization is by tract numbers and by names of places and MCDs.
Erie and Niagara County Block Maps (2000 Census of Population and Housing) (US. Census Bureau)
Located in Lockwood General Collection G3803.E6E25 2000 .P34
Lockwood Library's Reference Department has large printed reference copies of block maps for Erie and Niagara Counties used with the 2000 Census.
Featured Resources
Census Data Mapper - a web mapping application intended to provide users with a simple interface to view, save and print county-based demographic maps of the United States. The data are from the 2010 Census.
