Geology: Library Research for Geologists
Library Research for Geologists
(For a Comprehensive Resource Guide, see: GUIDE TO RESEARCH for the Elements of Geological Library Research)
This guide is a bibliography listing of some of the resources that are available in Geology in the University Libraries. The references selected will assist researchers in gaining background information and establishing a starting point from which other, more in-depth resources can be found on the topic. For individual help contact the Geosciences Librarian: Fred Stoss at firstname.lastname@example.org or 716 645-1337
Books, Maps and other formats
Use the UB Libraries' Catalog to find books, maps, and other materials in the UB Libraries' collections, both in print and in electronic formats.
Searching the Catalog
- Link to the Catalog via: https://catalog.lib.buffalo.edu/
- Search by author, title, or keywords.
- Once you have a set of results, use the left-hand panel to refine your search, limiting to type of material (books, maps, conference proceedings, etc.), format (electronic versus print), date range, etc.
- If a book is in print, a call number and library location will display. if the book is available online, click the title of the book and then from the next screen scroll down to where it says "Online" and click the hot-link there.
Print and Online Journals
Determining the Availability of a Journal in Print and/or Online
Access to Geology journals can be available through print, e-only or both. To determine if we have a particular journal, you can search by title in the Libraries Catalog at https://catalog.lib.buffalo.edu/ by selecting the journal/serials tab, then set search type to "title begins with"
- Example: The Journal of Volcanology and Geothermal Research
- Type: journal of volcanology
- The results will show two entries:
- Print journal available for the years 1976-2004 (shelved in the UB Libraries' Annex)
- E-only journal available for the years 2005+ (via ScienceDirect)
- The results will show two entries:
E-Journals by Title
A quick way to see if we have a particular journal online is to use the Libraries' E-Journals Tool.
- Link to the E-Journals Tool
- Type in the name of the journal, for example, journal of geochemical exploration
- The results screen will indicate whether we have the journal online and the dates of coverage as well as provide a link to access the full text contents, as shown below for this example:
01/01/1995 to Present in
Top of Form
Search inside this journal
Bottom of Form
Searching Databases for Articles
Bibliographic databases index items from a variety of sources including journals, magazines, conferences, books, association publications, and newspapers. Many databases offer full-text or partial full-text access to articles, abstracts, and citations. Some databases are very specialized while others are more broad based in terms of the subjects they cover.
Recommended Databases for the Geoscience
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals. For Scholarly, Academic, or Peer-reviewed journal articles see:
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowOne-pass searching of Web of Science citation indexes, BIOSIS Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, MEDLINE and more. More InfoPartial Full-Text UB ONLY
- ScienceDirect - (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowPartial Full-Text of all Elsevier published journals. More InfoPartial Full-Text UB ONLY
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowCritical reviews of current research in biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences disciplines. More InfoPartial Full-Text UB ONLY
- Nature Journals This link opens in a new windowProvides electronic access to the entire family of Nature journals. More InfoPartial Full-Text UB ONLY
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowDeep coverage in environmental studies. More InfoPartial Full-Text UB ONLY
- Compendex (Engineering Index) This link opens in a new windowEngineering & applied science-related research. More InfoPartial Full-Text UB ONLY
Delivery+ is the UB Libraries' free document delivery service. It allows you to request any materials from any UB library on any UB campus, including our electronic collections, as well as materials we do not own; we will locate and get the materials for you.
- you can request a book that is on the shelf through the library catalog or through your Delivery+ account and it will be retrieved for you and held at the circulation desk of the library you designate for you to come in and check out.
- Journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers will be scanned and sent to your Delivery+ account. If the item is in electronic format, we will simply save the file to your Delivery+ account. If we do not have the item in print or electronically, we will get it from another library as a scanned PDF and send it to your account. You will receive email notification email when the materials are available for you to login to your account and download.
Other UB Resources
UB Libraries Map Collection
The UB Map Collection is the largest in Western New York. It contains over 450,000 maps, 6,000 aerial photos, and more than 500 atlases covering all regions of the world, with emphasis on Buffalo and Erie County, New York State, the United States, Canada, and the University at Buffalo campuses. For information on location, hours, and how to contact the Map Librarian for assistance, see the Map Collection website at: https://library.buffalo.edu/maps/.
Access to ESRI GIS software is available to UB affiliates in the following ways:
- All UB Affiliates (including undergraduate students) are eligible to receive a free student edition copy of ArcGIS - One Year Education Use Only for their personal computers (available while attending UB). Go to 116 Lockwood Library to obtain a copy.
- ArcGIS software is loaded on public workstations in Lockwood Library and other labs and may be accessed by students.
For more information about our Maps Collection, GIS, and other cartographic resources and services, contact David J. Bertuca at email@example.com or 716-645-1332.