Properties Data for Chemicals & Materials: Best General Sources
This guide will lead you to vast collections of properties data. Use the BEST GENERAL SOURCES below to get started but don't neglect to use the tabs above to find specialized properties by material type (chemicals, metals, polymers, etc.)
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics Online
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics UB ONLY
This classic handbook contains hundreds of tables of critically evaluated data. The handbook is revised annually. Coverage includes analytical chemistry, astronomy, atomic and molecular physics, biochemistry, constants and units, electrochemistry, isotopes, fluid properties, geophysics, health and safety information, materials properties, nuclear and particle physics, polymer properties, and thermochemistry. You now also have the option to perform a search by drawing a chemical structure.
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data
- International Critical Tables of Numerical Data UB ONLY
This classic and well-known reference was originally published from 1926-1930 for the National Research Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties, it is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering. In 2003, Knovel undertook the conversion of this publication into a full-text searchable electronic format that makes data easily accessible.
- SciFinder UB ONLY
Created by Chemical Abstracts Service, this database provides detailed access to the properties of chemicals and many other types of substances via the largest substance database in the world and a very large database of references to journal and patent literature. Substance records now contain a long list of calculated and experimental properties.
- ChemSpider PUBLIC
ChemSpider, maintained by the Royal Society of Chemistry, extracts a wide range of information about chemicals and materials by crawling the Internet in much the same way Google Scholar extracts scholarly references. The Properties heading provides basic property and safety information, much of it taken from material safety datasheets, as well as predicted properties. The Data Sources heading provides a rich set of physical, biological, metabolic, toxicological, and environmental data in addition to spectral and more safety data. ChemSpider can be searched by names, substructures, CAS Registry Numbers, and InChI identifiers.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
- NIST Chemistry WebBook PUBLIC
This database contains high quality, critially reviewed data compiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Up to 45 thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics properties are available for over 40,000 compounds. Included is reaction thermochemistry data and a variety of spectra, when available. The database is predominantly organic with a few inorganic compounds. To browse other high quality NIST databases, visit the NIST Data Gateway, which provides information for over 94 NIST databases (Note: Some are not free.)
- ThermoLit PUBLIC
ThermoLit is a free database from the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) that allows you to zero in on literature references covering over four million thermophysical and thermochemical property data points of compounds, systems, and reactions. Use the search system to select the "System Type" (pure compounds, binary mixtures, or tertiary mixture), then enter the compound names, molecular formulas, or CAS Registry Numbers, next select the desired "Property Group," e.g,, critical properties, phase transition properties, or refractive index, and depending on the property group selected, specify a specific property (e.g., critical temperature) and phase (solid, liquid, gas, etc). A highly relevant set of literature references will be returned which can be saved as a PDF file.
- MatWeb: The On-line Materials Information Resource PUBLIC
MatWeb provides free data for over 25,400 materials including polymers, metals, alloys, superalloys, ceramics, glass, fibers, composites, semiconductors, and aerogels. Up to 75 properties are available for each material. Searching can be done by material type, trade name, specification number, manufacturer, up to three different property ranges, and alloy composition ranges. For a small subscription fee, additional features and search options are available. Knovel, which the UB Libraries subscribes to, now contains subsets of these materials data sheets and you can find them using the tabs above for Metals, Composites, and Plastics.
Tables of Physical & Chemical Constants
- Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants UB ONLY
Full-text access to this classic reference work: units & fundamental constants, general physics, chemistry, atomic and nuclear physics, engineering data, statistical methods, lab safety and quality assurance. A table of contents display is supplemented with a search engine.
Yaw's Critical Data
- Yaws' Critical Property Data for Chemical Engineers and Chemists UB ONLY
This database contains over 290,000 data records covering physical, thermophysical, thermodynamic, transport, safety, and environmental properties for over 5,000 inorganic substances and over 35,000 organic substances.
Thermophysical Properties of High Temperature Solid Materials
- Thermophysical Properties of High Temperature Solid Materials
This major multi-volume set covers specific heat, thermal expansion, viscosity, thermal diffusivity, thermal radiative properties, thermal conductivity, and thermal expansion for a wide range of materials. Available in print only in the Lockwood Library Science & Engineering Reference Collection, call number REF QC173.397.P87.
- Landolt-Bornstein Numerical Data & Functional Relationships in Science & Technology
This multi-volume print resource is currently available only in print in the Lockwood Library Science & Engineering Reference Collection under the call number REF QC61.L3.
- LB-Comprehensive Index 1996 - Also available in print (see Lockwood Library Science & Engineering Reference Collection under the call number QC61 .L332 Index.
- Substance/Property Index (Univ. of Hamburg) - Searchable by chemical name, formula, elements, element system, substructure, and CAS registry numbers
- Table of Contents
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook
Citation Management Software
|UB has a site license to EndNote, software that allows you to collect, store, organize, retrieve, and automatically format references to journal articles, books, patents, and more in your papers. Contact me for more information.|