Processing and Description: Controlled Access
General Usage Notes
ASpace fields: Agents: Creator, Source
|EAD elements/attribute: <origination>, <repository>, <persname>, @relator||DACS 2.6|
Start by determining who created the collection. This piece of information is often contained in the unit title for the resource record.
Check if there is an existing heading: In the Agents dropdown, browse for your name heading. If you find the matching heading, select it and Link to Agents. If there is no record, create one using an authority record from a controlled vocabulary such as Library of Congress Name Authority Files or Union List of Artist Names.
All collections must include a UB corporate name as source in addition to any creator or subject agents:
State University of New York at Buffalo. University Archives
State University of New York at Buffalo. Poetry Collection
Rare and Special Books
Robert L. Brown History of Medicine Collection
Agent as Subject
|ASpace field: Agents: Subject||EAD element/attribute: <persname>, @relator||DACS 2.6|
To use an agent as a subject, link to the agent record as above but choose "subject" as the role. In the example below, this indicates that the collection is about Wright but does not consist of materials created by Wright.
Required Agent and Agent-as-Subject Headings
State University of New York at Buffalo. University Archives (internal link)
|All University Archives collections should have this heading.||
State University of New York at Buffalo. Poetry Collection (internal link)
|All Poetry Collection collections should have this heading.||
The following are required for relevant collections | Role=Subject
Athletics Memorabilia Collection) (internal link)
Jewish Buffalo Archives Project (internal link)
General Usage Notes
Subjects map to MARC 65X fields. Remember, names as subjects are added agents with role set to subject.
Subjects should be derived from the Library of Congress Authority Files (lcnaf): Search for the appropriate term. Check the authority record to confirm that the term is describing what you are looking for.
Be as specific as possible when adding subject terms. Use '+' to connect multiple terms to build a subject heading.
Other ways to find appropriate subject headings:
Check the UB Library catalog for items related to the collection.
Search WorldCat to see what subject terms other institutions are using for similar collections.
Creating & Linking to Subject Records
Topical subjects are the most commonly used subject terms in our finding aids. These map to MARC 650 fields.
To add subjects in the AS record:
Subject analysis is a complex skill: Some topical LC subject headings can be subdivided by geographical term, chronological term, genre form, or another topical term; some cannot. The entry for that heading will indicate as such, but ArchivesSpace cannot control for correct formation of a subject string.
Further, some LC subject strings are preexisting; that is, the string has its own control number separate from the control number for the base heading.
For instance: Musicians--Argentina is a preexisting string with control number sh2010102942. The elements are "Musicians" as a 650 topical subject and "Argentina" as a geographical subject (subfield z): 150 __ |a Musicians |z Argentina. Note that this string has a different control number than the number for the base heading "Musicians," which is sh 85089027.
Some concepts and qualifiers are encompassed in the term and some are expressed using subdivisions:
Women teachers expresses the concept in a single term (rather than Teachers--Women), whereas materials pertaining to women's roles in World War II are classified under World War, 1939-1945--Women: 150 __ |a World War, 1939-1945 |x Women.
All to say, look carefully at the records for subject headings before adding them to ArchivesSpace.
Common subordinate components that you might add to topical subject terms for our collections include the following:
<term> -- New York (State) -- Buffalo
<term> -- Administration
<term> -- United States
<term> -- Photographs
<term> -- Pictorial Works
These may also be added to personal, corporate, and family names; however, in these instances the subject is created under the "Names" section (see above). An example might be "State University of New York at Buffalo -- History."
To add geographical subjects in the AS record, follow the directions above (Topical Terms); however, instead of selecting "Topical term" from the "Type" pull-down list, select "Geographic Name." If you are unsure whether a term is a geographic name or a topical term, check the authority record. Geographic names should be listed under the 151 field, while topical terms are listed under the 150 field.
Geographic names can also be used as subordinates of topical terms (see above). When you find a geographic name, check the authority record. The proper form for the subordinate is listed under the 781 field. For instance, "Buffalo (N.Y.)" can serve as a primary subject heading, but you should use "New York (State) -- Buffalo" for a subordinate subject heading.
Common subordinate components that you might add to geographical names for our collections include the following:
<place> -- Pictorial works
<place> -- History
<place> -- Description and travel
Genre terms describe the types of materials in the collection. Because archival collections can contain a multitude of materials and formats, a list of genre terms could become quite extensive. Every genre need not be listed.
Find Genre terms from the Getty Art & Architecture Thesaurus.
Once you find the term, you can click the hierarchy symbol ( ) next to the term to see a list of narrower terms (e.g. Bankbooks, Budgets). If you cannot find an appropriate term in AAT, try searching the Library of Congress Authority Files.