History of Medicine: Databases and Useful Links
History of Medicine
Last Updated: Jan 8, 2024 4:09 PM
Databases and Online Resources
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowHistory of the United States and Canada. More InfoPartial Full-Text UB ONLY
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowThis collection contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA digital repository of online books and other scholarly materials. More InfoPartial Full-Text PUBLIC
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals in the humanities & social sciences. More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2013) with Index (1851-1993) This link opens in a new windowsee New York Times (1851-2012) with Index (1851-1993). More InfoFull-Text UB ONLY
- Western New York Index This link opens in a new windowIndexed news; feature articles and reviews appearing in the city edition of the Buffalo News, Buffalo Spree, Business First, Western New York Magazine, and the WNY Genealogical Society Journal. More InfoPUBLIC
- History of Medicine IndexCatSearch digitized versions of the printed Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office; eTK for medieval Latin texts; and eVK2 for medieval English texts; along with links to other selected NLM resources.
- Buffalo Medical Journal 1846-1918The Buffalo Medical Journal was established by Austin Flint and was published from 1845 through 1919. Many articles were written by prominent figures in the area, provide biographical information, or relate to area health care institutions, and document significant events in medical history in Western New York.
- The Buffalo History Museum Library CatalogSearch the items found in The Buffalo History Museum's Library.
- Chronicling AmericaSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- Archive GridArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,400 archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
Brown-Buerger Cystoscope
A cystoscopy from the 1930s that was used to examine the interior of the urinary bladder and ureter.
Links to Other Institutions
- American Academy of the History of DentistryThe website of the American Academy of the History of Dentistry. A group of individuals who's goal it is to stimulate interest, study and research in dental history.
- American Association for the History of NursingA professional organization that focuses on the history of nursing. Contains some research resources that include digital collections and journal links.
- American Institute of the History of PharmacyWebsite for the national organization for the history of pharmacy. The American Institute of the History of Pharmacy is also the publisher of the scholarly journal, Pharmacy in History.
- The Buffalo History MuseumThe Buffalo History Museum contains exhibits and artifacts from Western New York, along with a research library that contains books, pamphlets, letters, diaries, personal papers, organizational & business records, periodicals, newspapers, scrapbooks, photographs, postcards, prints, drawings, posters, maps, atlases, microfilms, and even some DVDs about Buffalo and Western New York.
- National Library of Medicine: History of Medicine DivisionFind digital projects and collections pertaining to History of Medicine, curated by the National Library of Medicine.
- National Museum of DentistryWebsite of the National Museum of Dentistry which is located in Baltimore, MD.
- National Museum of Health and MedicineWebsite of the National Museum of Health and Medicine. A museum that focuses on army and war medicine, located in Silver Spring, MD.
- Wellcome CollectionThe Wellcome Collection (London, UK) provides digital access to a wide array of artifacts, books, manuscripts, archives, films and pictures on the history of medicine from the earliest times to the present day.