Web of Science
Last Updated: May 23, 2022 2:35 PM
The Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) search system allows single-pass (simultaneous) searching of thirteen major databases:
- Web of Science Core Collection Databases:
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1945+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1956+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (2008+)
- Book Citation Index (2005+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1986+) & Index Chemicus (1993+)
- BIOSIS Citation Index (2008+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index (patents, 2008+)
- KCI-Korean Journal Database (1980+)
- MEDLINE (1950+)
- Russian Science Citation Index (2005+)
- SciELO Citation Index - Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean & South Africa.(1997+)
- Zoological Record (2008+)
Searching the entire Web of Science collection of databases together for keyword, title, and author searching will assure a more comprehensive search than searching Web of Science Core Collection alone. The Web of Science platform covers additional materials like patents, data sets, and significantly more life sciences references. At any time, one can move between a multi-database search and a single database search by clicking the "Search In" drop-down menu on the default search screen above the search box. Note that with a Web of Science All Databases search, one can still link to both cited references (the bibliography of a paper) and more recent references that cite the particular item.
However, we recommend searching only the Web of Science Core Collection when doing citation/tenure metrics analyses and certain advanced search features specific to the WOSCC. One reason for using WOSCC for citation metrics is that it is one of the few major databases that include all authors and all of their affiliations. Nearly all other databases provide an address only for the lead or contact author.
Advanced search features are accessed by clicking the tabs above the search area and include:
- Under the "Documents" tab:
- Cited Reference Searching (searching by cited author or cited work, among other options)
- Under the "Researchers" tab:
- Search by author name and affiliation
A search across all Web of Science databases covers journal articles, conference papers, books, book chapters, patents, data sets, chemical reactions, and technical reports from thousands of published sources.
For more information, see their tutorial videos.
Varies by database, see itemized listing of component databases in the description section above.
Click on the database links in the Related Database section.
See also each individual component database linked in the bulleted listing in the display above.